Come and help us with wine making near Pisa, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 317 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    950

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everybody,
    My name is Manuel and I'm a 33 year old Italian winemaker. I graduated from the Agrarian University in Pisa (Tuscany) and my work is in natural, organic, and biodynamic agriculture because these are principles I strongly believe in.
    After gaining experience working for other wine producers, I now run my business in wine production. I take abandoned or unmaintained vineyards in Tuscany and restructure and recover them. Now, our production has hit 4,000 bottles per year and my wine is sold in bars and restaurants all around Italy.
    The idea behind this work is not just about profit but also agricultural redevelopment because Tuscany is more than just Chianti!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will have the opportunity to explore one of the most beautiful regions in the world here in Tuscany. There is much more to Tuscany than Florence, the Tower of Pisa, etc. and you will have the chance to see another side of this region that is still wild and rural.
    You will also benefit from opportunities to learn Italian and the basics of natural winemaking. There will also be opportunities to visit the nearby cities of Pisa, Lucca, and Florence.
    The farm is located near the Francigena route (Italy's version of the Camino Santiago in Spain).
    The strength of this experience will, above all, be food and wine.

  • Help

    Help

    Harvest season is in late August and September, but there are many jobs to do all year. Workawayers will be able to experience many different aspects of wine production both in the vineyard and the cellar. There will be a lot of work in general maintenance and restructuring, for both cellar and accommodations.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guests will sleep in a farmhouse in the beautiful hills surrounding the ancient city of Lucca. The house accomodates 3-5 guests, but volunteers are also welcome to try a "camping experience" in the vineyard itself if they bring a tent.
    In terms of food, we will share many big meals including outdoor grilling and traditional Tuscan cuisine (provided by me).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This project is more than just a conventional business: it is a project run by young winemakers and university students with the goal of recovering and maintaining rural areas, lifestyles, and vineyards that aren't simply "mainstream."

    It is important to note that the vineyards are spread out around different remote spots in the area, so there will be some time spent travelling to and from work locations before and after work.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)















Host ref number: 845826148164