Old Japanese house renovation for Japanese/Nordic design eco-share-house/guest house in Chiba

Country

Japan

Favourited 220 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    562

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Old Japanese house renovation for share-house/guest house in Chiba

    Hi, everyone!
    I’m Haruka lives in a coast side town in Chiba prefecture (next to Tokyo).
    I used to live in Denmark for 2 years and just came back from 7months travel to Nepal, India and Denmark.
    Of all experience abroad, I’ve met many people who helped me a lot.
    They let me stay their place, took me beautiful places, taught me culture etc…
    Those moments with them let me decide to create a place where people can “comeback” from all over the world and connect with people and themselves.
    I want to renovate this house as a home for people who have dreams and vision for the future.
    (The keyword for renovation the house; Japanese retro, Nordic modern, clean, quiet, calm, eco-friendly, organic )


    So, I need your help to make it happen!
    Work and share time together and be my family!



    ※Things I want you to know before you apply.
    ~Time you’ll spend here will be a bit wild. You’ll experience inconvenient but fun life!~

    ・Toilet is western style toilet and automatic flush but sewage system is old so sometimes it smells.
    Even it smells from outside!
    ・Also, I don’t put a laundry machine so we have to wash clothes by ourselves.
    ・ The house is old and full of dust. If you have an allergy to it, better to think well.
    ・Almost all of floors in a house are tatami-grass-mattress seat, fragrant (for Japanese!) grasses made. I don’t think it doesn’t smell anymore but just be prepared!
    ・We don't have western beds. It means you'll sleep on tatami grass-mattress floor, enjoy having experience of Japanese futon-beds!
    ・I’m occasionally vegan or vegetarian. I eat something unique and smelly for you (for me it smells so good!) for example seaweed, fermented soybeans etc. However, of course, you can eat whatever you want^^
    ・There are lots of mosquitos!
    ・ The house is located in a quiet area so please respect others in the area.
    ・ The area is somehow very low connection for the internet. Sometimes you have to be veeery patient!
    ・Maximum hours to work in a day is 3 hours because there are full of dust and mould and these might make you feel sick if we work a long time.
    ●This property is not my own and not allowed to smoke inside the property, inside the house, garden, backyard. I sincerely ask you to follow the condition.



    ※Things I want you to bring.

    〇If you go camping or trekking, then those equipment’s should cover you’ll need here.

    ・your own bath towel
    ・rainboots or shoes which you don’t mind to get dirty
    ・a raincoat or an umbrella
    ・a pair of working globes
    …If you don’t have any, there is a big supermarket nearby so you can buy them.




    Looking forward to seeing you here and work, sweat, chill and drink tea together 😉 !!


    Haruka

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    ・I like cooking. Usually vegan or vegetarian and Japanese food.
    If you like vegetarian food or Japanese food, we can learn together!
    ・I like origami-paper folding craftwork, Japanese calligraphy, ikebana-flower arrangement and Japanese traditional dance (all types of dance too!). Do you want to try it out?
    ・And, of course, Japanese language we can learn together!
    ・I’m a serious tea addict. You’ll enjoy and learn a lot about tea!

  • Help

    Help

    If you have experience of these, please share with us!
    Renovation (interior and exterior), electric and bathroom/water repairing, making a garden for herbs and veggies, making a compost or good sense of interior designing: I want to mix Nordic modern into Japanese retro.
    There will be full of cleaning up and tidy up here!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Japanese and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    ・There are no western beds so we all sleep on Japanese futon-beds on the tatami floor.
    If you have never tried to sleep on the floor, you might feel very different but hope you'll like it.
    ・ This place is no-smoking property. If you want to smoke, you’ll have to go outside.
    ・I’m occasionally vegan/vegetarian and what I eat might be unique for you but you can eat what you want to eat here by yourself.
    ・When we work together, we'll eat together. It means you'll prepare yourself when you have day-off.
    ・We all have to go to buy food at a supermarket or a shopping mall as there is no garden nor field is available now.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    ・You can go to the Pacific, 30min on foot is a good walking through rice field!
    ・There is an old temple which is my favourite in a quiet area 15min on foot.
    ・There are a big supermarket and 2 convenience stores nearby. All of them are within 15min on foot.
    ・There is a shopping mall in a city. It’s 10 min both by bike or taking a train (just next station)
    ・You can go to see soy sauce company tour or some museum or aquarium, next to my city (going by train)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

I travelled around Japan by visiting friends, friends' friends, friends' friends' friends, like doing Workaway. The photo was taken when I was staying my friend's place & cleaning her place.
As it takes time to do gardening, I just go to local market and get some flower bouquets and flower pots and decorate inside the house.
Japanese quince in the garden.
木蓮≒tree lotus, Japanese magnolia in the backyard. Smells like ginger, fresh and sweet.
In Kyoto. One of my favorite city in Japan. I think you too :)
On day-off or when it's sunny good day, we can have rooftop parties together!!!
Let's tidy and clean up together! Most of rooms' floor are like this, tatami-grass sheet floor ^^
The Pacific. It's a good walk to go there and chill. Time just goes by like a shooting arrow when you're there!!
This is me, at Bakken in Denmark. I love tea and wil make you an tea addict!
This in the only room which is not tatami floor. Most of rooms are still messy like this!
Host ref number: 845812556251