Join our family and help with childminding in the French Alps, France

  • France
  • Favourited 18 times
  • Last activity: 4 Jan 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are a family of 4, living in the French Alps. We live in a comunity that hosts 9 people, but in the winter most of the residents are traveling on their own for work. There's a common house and some independent spaces. Our main activity is a kind of retreat center - "a gite". It's a big building (close to our house) that can host groups of 15 to 20 people, with a really beautiful studio with wood floor. There are usually courses of yoga, dance, meditation or retreats.
    Our home is situated in the mountains, beautiful landscape, silence, nature, nature, nature... It’s quite isolated but in a 30min drive we have the closest village with all the facilities. We live in an area quite alternative and with many other community projets. It's a really nice place to meet other people living in a sustainable way and consciousness for taking care of nature and animals.
    We are two creative souls, we have a nice woodworkshop, that can be available for our helpers and of course with some guidance, if needed. We have a street performance company, we are dancers and we play some music. We propose dance and music events regurlaly at our place. We are happy to share our knowlegde and experience.
    Ah! and we have a sauna! :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live deep in the mountains so wild and nature is what rules here. We have a lot to exchange, about our experience as performance artists, artisans (mostly wood) and dance teacher. We organise dance events regularly here, you would be most welcome. I’m Portuguese so we can practice portuguese. And of course French, if you’re a traveler looking to improve your French! We have a nice wood workshop and we can help with wood projects.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We search for help with our daughter of 1 year. Spend time, play, listen to her needs. We can adapt to our workawayer time :) but we would need around 3h per day, 4 to 5 days a week.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    A room in the main house, with access to all the common areas of the house (living room, kitchen, bathroom).
    WiFi available
    We also have a sauna ;)
    About the food we prefer to see it directly with you, but we would provide your main meals. Maybe not to share them all with you, we really like our solo time in family as well. but the food is granted!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    walking distance it's mostly nature, hiking, climbing.. but the landscape is really amazing! Also we have horses, so if you are a horse lover, we have 7 in our comunity :) autumn is so beautiful with all the colors!! and winter time you can enjoy the sauna and the snow!
    half an hour driving: cultural events, circus classes, dance classes, the local market with real interesting artisans and life music regularly, really cool ambiance, cinema, theatre.
    If you don't have a car you can hitchhike quite easily here, and also, because we are quite a few there's regularly someone going to the city

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of space to park vans or campervans. You'll have all the extra accomodations in the common house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 838397735129