Swedish family of four plus a cat offer living close to Orewa beach! New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are a family of four, originally from Sweden but living and loving life in NZ. My husband and I have two boys, born 2009 and 2011. We also have the best cat in the world, who loves people and cuddles. We love him like a child:)

    We are pretty laid back, not super strict with the boys...if its a holiday we stay up late and have sleep ins and sometimes the boys have pyjama days.
    We love to have a tidy and clean house...however...we don't stress too much about the house being messy. The boys are allowed to create slime, make "potions" and make play dough.

    The boys are not loud and crazy and good at entertaining themselves, however they love to play boardgames, their home made games, playstation or play in the local pool/ocean with us.

    We speak Swedish at home but always switch to English when we eat meals or work/hang alongside workaway guests so they feel included. The children are fluent in both languages but prefers to speak English and this is why we try to speak Swedish to them, so they don't forget their mother language x

    I'm a social butterfly and my husband is a more private person:) He's a telecommunication professional and I'm a group fitness instructor, musician and also run an airbnb from home.

    We need someone with a drivers licence and preferably your own car too (not a must). If you use your own car for school pick ups/day trips with the kids we’ll reimburse you for petrol of course.

    Sorry boys, we prefer a female workaway guest x

    Cheers Caroline

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Have fun with this family! The kids and I go to the beach, movies, music festivals, pool etc. I can teach you some secret Swedish recipes if u are interested in cooking;) If I'm playing a public gig at a bar you're more than welcome to come along.
    We also give lot of privacy and space as we like to chill in our room and watch movies.

  • Help

    Help

    We'd love to get help with general house keeping like emptying the dishwasher, cleaning up after dinner, vacuuming, window cleaning, take out the trash, laundry, taking the kids to the playground/beach/pool, playing with the kids at home (doing drawings/lego/playing boardgames/playing Minecraft), dropping off/picking up kids from school, gardening and on occasion evening babysitting.
    Its very helpful if you are able to "see what needs to be done", if the dishwasher is clean, please empty it, if the kids are restless, maybe offer to play a board game with them and so on x

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house was built in 2015 and is fresh and modern. It's a 4 bdr, 3 bathrooms villa. We use the downstairs unit as an airbnb.

    We let workaway guests use one of our boys room whilst living here. Sharing the bathroom/shower with the boys.

    We don't always have family dinners where all sit down, the kids usually eat earlier and I'm often making 2 different dishes to suit everyone. I love cooking and whilst the kids eat "normal" foods like spaghetti bolognese, pancakes, fish fingers, rice, home made chicken nuggets, meatballs...we usually eat vegetarian/vegan dishes like curries, salads, stir fries. I make my own kombucha and try to bake bread and other home baking as much as I have time to.
    The kids have toast or a home made shake for breakfast. We have toast, spreads, eggs, muesli available and I'm happy to get other breakfast items if requested. Lunch is usually left overs, soup or wraps w salad. There's always some ready made dishes in the freezer. Everyone kinda' help themselves when they're hungry.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 2 min drive from Orewa Beach, great for surfing/body boarding (we have body boards you can borrow). Bicycle available too. We also have other amazing beaches and natural reserves 5-20 min drive from us. 35 min drive to Auckland city. Local gyms and pools close by. Albany shopping centre 15 min drive. Bus stop only 5 min walk away.

    Our family suits someone who enjoys their own time as well. We do not allow for you to have any night guests. Also not inviting friends over without asking us first.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 836811964655