Experience life on our family farm in the lovely area of Pays-d'Auge, Normandy, France

Country

France

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm run by my son, Nicolas (30) and myself, Isabelle (54) in the lovely area of Pays-d'Auge, Normandy. We grow wheat, potatoes, wax and beetroots on a rather large (and not yet organic...) scale but also have apple orchards, a small livestock (8 cows + their calves) fed on grass and hay, 9 hens, a great organic kitchen garden and 3 guesthouses. I'm currently studying to become a herbalist. The Pays-d'Auge (Calvados) is a beautiful place to visit : old villages and towns (Honfleur), D-Day beaches (Arromanches), other beaches (Deauville) etc. Plenty of good food : cheese, cider, honey... Nicolas speaks English and French, I speak English, Dutch and French.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Since we are hardly able to leave the farm, getting visitors looks a bit like holidays to us. We like welcoming people and show them the place around. Nicolas has spent 8 months in Australia and 18 months in USA and is always happy to share some souvenirs with other people.

  • Help

    Help

    We always have been welcoming people (family or friends) on the farm and seen how keen they are to help on some chores. We have so much to do in order to keep the place clean and welcoming : woodshed to tidy up, henhouse (very smelly) to clean, weeding, guesthouses to prepare, etc. Tractors won't be driven by guests, because of insurance rules. If some guests like cooking, their recipes would be very welcome. And if they LOVE do some housecleaning, I wouldn't mind their doing it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guests woud be sleeping either in my house, or in Nicolas'. Spare rooms and private bathroom in my house. Meals have to be discussed about; we are flexible, but assume that guests share all the meals with us. I'm not a very good cook but I can make.... soup. As written above, any idea very welcome.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Host ref number: 835882723894