Welcoming two Spanish speakers for cultural exchange in Somerset, South West England, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 689 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    We are a small family farm with vegetables, chickens and sheep, dogs and lots of wide open space nestled in stunning countryside. Our farm is not a business but we are always busy!! We are 5 miles from Bruton in Somerset and nestled into the crook of Stourhead Woods. We do everything organically and also practice biodynamics here. We usually have an interesting project or two on the go, at the moment I have lots of found articles and want to make a Derek Jarmanesque stoney garden area and I want revamp the caravan. We sell about 10 sheep a year and as such our workawayers will not do things directly involving the sheep.

    We would like to welcome fluent Spanish speakers here as our youngest daughter (13) is being home schooled and we would love for Spanish to be brought to life for her. We are creative and like to use our hands and imagination. We enjoy good food here.

    Volunteers will stay in the spare room and have full use of our kitchen, bathroom and communal areas. We welcome people wanting to engage in farm life and other outdoor projects. We are very happy to share our knowledge and experiences and we love having Workawayers as it brings the world to our doorstep and we have learned so many interesting things from all the people who have stayed here. Over the years we have hosted over 70 workawayers- currently we would like to welcome a couple of people who will share the spare room and be happy to stay 1 to 3 months.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will stay in one of the most beautiful spots in Somerset, it is deeply nourishing. There are opportunities to learn about growing vegetables, to learn diversity in farming, farming with sensitivity to nature and with respect for the cycle of life. You can learn about biodynamics, organics, trees, grasslands, wetlands, crafts (particularly with wool) and other art projects. I have some novel ways of looking after animals with respect for their natural instincts and love to share these. Our farm is an incredibly beautiful place, it is manna for mind body and soul and their is time every day to relax and be nourished by the surroundings up at our pond or in the garden or watching the view at the top of the farm. There are good opportunities to practice English but because it is important when using tools and alongside animals to get a good understanding it doesn't work if your English is too limited. The surrounding countryside is stunning, we live a 2 hour walk from Stourhead which is often voted in Englands top 5 gardens. We also have a lot of good books which are educational on all things self-sufficient. So much to learn if that is what you want. We much prefer people who are genuinely interested in what we are doing here rather than people who just want to learn the language. And you must like teenagers and dogs! We are currently doing some interesting building projects and relandscaping some areas around the house which mean new skills can be learned. The local area is beautiful, friendly and interesting, we have a funky international art gallery in Bruton and Frome is a wonderfully creative market town, all v. buzzy. Bath and Bristol are an hour away, many opportunities for cultural adventures 😀

  • Help


    Every day is different, the tasks go from being hard and physical outdoor to general farm duties, moving sheep, mending chicken pens to washing out the fleeces and preparing them for felting, to decorating to planting seeds and making and spreading compost to speaking lots of Spanish to cooking a meal for everyone to who knows what else? If volunteers have particular skills or preferences we take this into consideration. We like you to help for 6 hours a day, 4 days a week. When you are not working we are very happy to give you a lift to a nearby town so you can get public transport to somewhere you want to go and visit. Life can be very quiet here or very busy, it is always changing!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You will be staying in our spare room which has a generous and very comfortable king size bed which can be split into 2 singles, I have pictures of the room if you apply! We are a family with established routines (as well as established chaos!) and have a large kitchen which is where you can relax and hang out when not working, you are welcome in the kitchen 24/7. You have access to a toilet and your own shower in the house at all times. We have bicycles (lots of opportunity for riding in the countryside) but it can be quite hilly. You are welcome to get a lift with me when I go to places. It is essential that you are tidy and help to keep the kitchen tidy, I am not interested in hosting people who are not able to be mature about being tidy and washing up etc! We like to have at least 2 volunteers at any time so you will always have company as sometimes we like to spend the evenings as a family or we can go to bed quite early.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bicycles are available to use. There are buses and trains in most directions from Bruton (5 miles) and Frome (10 miles) and Wincanton (10 miles). We will give you a lift to local services as often as we can. YOU MUST BRING ENOUGH SUITABLE CLOTHING INCLUDING WATERPROOFS AND A GOOD PAIR OF WELLIES!!!!!!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Excellent wifi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have lots of space for a campervan or motorhome to park here if that is your preferred place to stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    6 hours per day for 4 days a week

Host ref number: 834541165948