Live the dream on the land and help with some building renovations and landscaping in Murcia, Spain



Favourited 18 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hello, we are Kathy(65) and Dirk(62) and we live on an old finca in a beautiful valley with almond trees and olives in the mountains of Sierra Espuña, Murcia, Spain. Kath is Welsh and Dirk is Dutch. The finca/farm is situated on the edge of the Natural Park, and is terrific for hiking, biking, climbing, cycling and watching wildlife – including golden eagles. wild boar (javali) and arrui (a type of mountain goat/deer from the Atlas Mountains).

    We will be starting the second phase of the building renovations on the old ruined farmhouse, this autumn. Also, we are landscaping the terrace that the farmhouse sits on and developing raised vegetable beds and flower beds. It is our aim to be completely organic within the next few years. At present we don’t use any sprays/pesticides on our vegetables and fruit, and we are working towards being self-sufficient. We are off-grid, any electricity comes from a generator. There is water from a nearby deposito (small reservoir) and there is also a natural spring not far away.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As the village is a traditional, Spanish mountain village, there’s plenty of opportunity to learn and practice Spanish every day. The locals are very friendly and like to help out, although like most Spaniards they do speak quite fast! Languages spoken on the farm include: Spanish, English, Dutch, German and a smattering of French. We welcome anyone from any country, all we ask is enthusiasm and a smile!
    This is certainly not all about work, although of course we hope that you will enjoy the challenge of working in a different environment, helping us to progress our ideas. We hope that you will have fun in learning some new skills! Also, that we will all be able to exchange ideas and knowledge about sustainability and self-sufficiency, and that you will learn more about Spanish culture.

  • Help


    From 15th October 2019 we will be looking for enthusiastic adults of all ages to come (sorry, it is not suitable for children) and help us on our almond farm through the winter. There will be a wide variety of jobs including:
    *demolishing the last part of the old ruin
    *construction work – mixing cement and
    assisting in building;
    *dry stone walling around the various
    *stone collecting;
    *gardening – weeding and clearing
    overgrown areas, planting,
    pruning and collecting olives;
    *wood collection in the nearby forest and
    then chopping and stacking wood for
    the winter;
    *building a compost toilet.
    There will also be some work in the kitchen making jams and chutneys and helping to prepare food for everyone.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, German, Spanish and some French

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation will be camping on our land in a fenced area. Tents, air beds and bedding will be provided. There is plenty of space, so it is no problem at all if you would like to bring a caravan or motorhome. On working days we will provide 3 vegetarian meals plus tea, coffee and water, in exchange for 4.5 hours work per day. We ask you to participate in the food preparation for the helpers and hosts, and washing up. You are welcome to cook your own food if you would prefer. Volunteers may stay for a week, a month or even longer by arrangement.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Normally, we work from 09.00 till 14.00 with half hour coffee break around 11.00 but volunteers can choose their hours. You may wish to work the hours in 3 days and go sightseeing or walking in the mountains for the rest of the week. We are very flexible as long as we have help! If you choose to work 5 mornings, we stop around 14.00 for lunch, afterwards you are free to do whatever you like. Transport can be provided on certain days to see the local sights or go into town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    22.5 hours a week

Almond fields
On the left is the ruin to be taken down

Host ref number: 833949958758