1 / 3

Stay in our gorgeous holiday home and help clear weeds in La Tranche sur mer, France

  • France
  • Favourited 21 times
  • Last activity: 6 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Our holiday home is a stone's throw from a beautiful unspoilt beach - with its own pop-up bar and cafe in season - in the Southern Vendée, France. Our house is in a quiet residential area, but the centre of town with all its attractions is only a mile away. We are in a micro-climate (sheltered by Île de Ré) and the weather is generally very good - plenty of sunshine but not as hot or crowded as the south of France in high season. It's a lovely holiday home - but it's getting to be too much for us to manage on our own, as we are quite elderly, our children tell us!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will be living in a very French part of France - there are plenty of tourists here in season, but mostly from round Paris. The local shops and businesses appreciate visitors making the effort to speak French. Your hosts are English - one is a qualified English teacher - and would be happy to help with English language practice.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    There are a lot of weeds that need clearing so we can construct an above-ground tubular pool. There are flagstones to lay (on sand, no concreting needed) round the pool and for the table-tennis table. The gutters need the pine needles clearing out. There are big windows to clean, and the curtains need re-hanging afterwards. The war against the cobwebs is never-ending!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm a qualified English teacher (although not recently!) and would be happy to help with English. My French needs more work and we would really value having French guests to listen and talk to.

  • Accommodation


    We have a separate apartment for guests downstairs. It has three bedrooms, a salon with kitchenette, a wet room and a bathroom, dishwasher, washing machine, TV (English channels) and wifi. We will provide groceries for people to make their own breakfasts and suppers, and we will provide a pescatarian or vegetarian lunch for us all to eat together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are bikes available for people to explore the many cycle trails around the Vendée. We are not far (3 hours) from the Loire chateaux, and even nearer to La Rochelle and Île de Ré. There are some buses or we could drop you off and pick you up from a station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A small campervan would be ok - a Winibago with bikes on the back won't actually fit into our drive! (We know this, have tried it).

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 833226589589