updated  

Farmstay and Community Engagement in San Salvador de Baru, Costa Rica

  • Favourited 711 times
  • Last activity: 19 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    I'm Sam, and I live in a magical little place on the side of a mountain in the South Pacific side of Costa Rica with my two kids (who are with me half the time). The property is secluded, private, quiet.... several acres of fruit trees, a greenhouse, and some really epic spots for a morning coffee, stroll through the jungle, or evening fire. Also a short drive or day-trip to lots of beautiful nature spots.

    I'm very real/authentic, and seeking people who can skip the surface chatter and get deep quickly (not that you need to be my best friend, but if the conversation doesn't have some depth, then... why?). I can be very social, but also like my space and alone time. I'm a very orderly/clean type of person and it's EXTREMELY important for me that all spaces are well kept and free from clutter!

    I believe our mission is to be the purest representation of God's nature as possible... among other things, this means doing everything with excellence and beauty whether it's cleaning the toilet or planting a flower. I'm looking for people who really desire to have impeccable character, try to the best of their ability to have all thoughts/speech/actions coming from a root motivation of love, and able to give & receive instruction/correction without taking offense. These characteristics are a good foundation for peace, and this is very important to me.

    My intention for hosting Workawayers is not only to receive help at my place, but for my guests to engage with different community projects/farms as part of their work exchange. We're beginning a collective with several neighboring farms to come together and work as a group, rotating around our farms to be more efficient and have much more fun :)

    The structure of your stay would look something like:
    - 1 day working with me & our hired gardener around my place.
    - 1 day working more independently by yourself on the land, cooking or cleaning (whatever is needed at the moment).
    - 1 day working collectively with everyone from the other farms
    - 1 day you choose a community-oriented project to participate in (there's a community garden, recycling center, project to plant fruit trees along public roadsides & other various community initiatives happening)
    - 3 days free

    I've got 7 cats & 2 dogs, so you can't be allergic to those :)
    I also have my two exceptionally awesome kids every other week (10 and 13 years old). My daughter would be happy to learn a new recipe or bake something yummy with you. My son is the type to play legos or make something explode.

    I like to keep my space substance free, except for a bottle of wine every now and then...

    ***NOTE*** Upon arrival, you must spend one night in the forest alone, beginning at dusk with nothing to see but the moonlight piercing through the foliage of mango branches far above - the very branches which carry forth a heralding of the new day - guttural shrieks, echoing across the dark valley, still well before sunrise. Your task is simple: Capture a venomous snake, alive, in a handmade basket woven yourself that very night from the poisonous spines of the pejibaye tree, returning to camp before the first black shadows of these howling monkeys begin to scamper across the forest floor. But seriously, it's the jungle... there are big loud clumsy flying bugs that pee on you in the forest. It's hot/humid, and you will be sweating profusely at times. There's no McDonalds or double-stuffed Oreos. Only one brand of peanut butter, and it's not JIFFY. My Vitamix is sacred. Makeup and bug spray are futile.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience the life in a small mountain village, connect with community, learn some permaculture/gardening skills.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    - Fruit trees/permaculture work
    - Greenhouse/gardening
    - Cooking (especially if you can help utilize food the land is producing!)
    - General cleaning around the house (particularly maintaining the space where you'll be staying, and common areas)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There's a couple different areas where you could stay, depending on how many people are here at the moment & what makes the most sense for the guests. There's a main house with 2 bedrooms/kitchen/bathroom, and a more rustic cabin which does not have its own cooking facilities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's quite an expat population around me with community events all the time. Within a walk or a day trip to hikes/waterfalls/beaches/town. Bus transport does exist, but also walking & hitchhiking are common. I personally drive around quite a bit so getting to the store or an event would not be difficult...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Fiber optic internet is available, and the property has several inspiring areas where you can work in peace, immersed in nature.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 832948275983

Feedback (4)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Help out in a Caribbean guest house in Puerto Viejo, Limón, Costa Rica
Help to create an eco-project in the jungle of Nosara, Costa Rica