Help out on our homestead and with beekeeping near Waipu Caves, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 291 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/12/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  • Description

    Description

    We live at the Waipu Caves. We are career academics (Women's Studies/Social Anthropology; Archaeology, respectively). We are priviledged to own a large farm, with two houses,one of which we are still restoring.

    We’ve been off workaway for about a year, but with summer coming we are definitely looking for volunteers again. We are especially interested in those with woodworking and gardening skills, or anyone with farm or beekeeping experience. That being the case we welcome anyone who is willing to take up the challenges of new experiences.

    We are positioning hives on the farm in October and November, will manage them through the warmer months when bees are active, collect honey at intervals through the summer, and work to increase hive numbers.

    Ours is a busy and gratifying lifestyle. We are rebuilding a beautiful farm and restoring its environmental values while raising quality cattle. We enjoy sharing this adventure and the local recreation opportunities, which include caving, cycling, camping, hunting, bush walks, ocean beach swimming, surfing, and river sports, with New Zealanders and other visitors.

    We normally expect workaways to stay at least two weeks, but we are also looking for those who want to stay longer and learn in more depth about cattle farming and bee keeping. We are omnivorous, like to eat well and share cooking and dine with dine with with our guests.

    Doug, Maureen

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Shared conversations, social and recreational experiences, and practical help leading to increased understanding and insights about life and opportunities in this part of the world, as well as the acquisition of useful practical skills.

  • Help

    Help

    Our garden produces all year round and is planted out weeded, etc seasonally. There is a regular cycle of stock work, some fencing and weed eradication, and the usual seasonal tasks (firewood, hay, tractor work, etc).
    In beekeeping, we can always include help with hive building, management, honey extraction, and repositioning hives.
    In the house, there is a lot of cooking, preserving, merriment and good conversation.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French (in peu )

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation in one of three bedrooms, one king, one queen and one single. We can accept couples or singles nd like to have 3 or 4 people at a time as we find it makes for a lively environment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are midway between Auckland and the Bay of Islands, so city attractions and tourist centres are easily accessible. Locally, there is a marvellous mix of sports and recreational things to do, including ecological and cultural-historic tourism.

    The practical tasks are safe, designed to suit the skills and interests if visitors, and rewarding given the kind of long term development it is contributing to.

    We are eclectic eaters, have brilliant ingredients off the land and like to dine with guests.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4hrs per day, on average








Host ref number: 828294316677