Landart and gardening project in Sankt Johann im Pongau, Austria

Country

Austria

updated  

Favourited 209 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/09/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    142

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi Everybody,

    We are an austrian family and we are also chairman of the art association art&development in the mountain hut - Art Chalet. Magdalena is an archaeologist and curator at a museum nearby and Paul is an art and philosophy teacher. with a love for travelling, hiking with his dog, art and nature projects, archeology, woodcut and woodprint and an interest in sustainable living and farming.

    A few years ago we inherited a small house located in the austrian alps, in St.Johann im Pongau. Since then we have been working on making projects happen and bring life to the little mountain hut. Every year in summer we have an art week for local and international sculptors. During the year wood workshops take place with highschool students and in the winter season the hut is rented to tourists, who enjoy the skiing in the area.

    Our main project 2023-2025 is the design and work in our natural area (about 20000 m²). We call it "Vorderschuhzachgütl" and it is more or less wilderness after a deforestation. We plan to redesign this area.
    The redesign process is also documented online on our homepage..
    The natural area is at 1000 meters above sea leveland it is being developed into a publicly accessible and sustainable showroom and nature experience area.
    The site, the paths and the individual projects are provided with display boards and made accessible.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    - planting trees and earth art path project: experience with a typical nature in the mountain area
    - art projects like moving scapes: Art is seen as a common international and intercultural expression and language
    - gardening projects (discuss, plan and realize): what can be planted in 1000 meter sealevel? how can we use the natural materials? what can we produce in this height? how can we design the landscape for our benefit?
    - artists in residence, art courses

  • Help

    Help

    - design and work in our natural area "Vorderschuhzachgütl"
    -realizing your own art or nature project (there is a small art studio and materials available)
    - work for the footpaths
    -help in the wood and garden
    - create and design new art projects for the art chalet
    - help with the woodcut and woodprint courses

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in a 90 m² mountain hut/house. The house consists of a living room, kitchen, bathroom and 2 sleeping rooms. You will find all the necessities in the house: WIFI, TV, kitchen utensiles, ... The house is located on a hillside in the austrian alps. The next city (St. Johann) is a 10-minute drive or a 30-minute hike (downhill!!). There you will find supermarkets, bars, train station, cinema et cetera.. You should be aware that there is no public transport from the house to the city and a car is not always available, so bringing your own car would be advisable, but not necessary. It all depends on your own preferences, really. If you enjoy staying in a scenic, quiet mountain hut, surrounded by beautiful nature and don´t mind a hike to reach the next city, you will love it here. If you are looking for busy city live, you might be wrong.
    The house is surrounded by woods and fields, several hiking and mountainbike trails start right at the doorstep. A few farms will be your only neighbours.
    We (your hosts) will normally not always be staying with you (be aware of that), we live also in a small town, about an hour drive away, but we will stay for 3 or 4 days during the week and we will always be available via phone.
    The city of Salzburg is 50 km away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    hiking and mountain bike trails start directly from here, visit natural sights and castles, rafting, climbing, visit the UNESCO town Salzburg and Hallstatt, the ..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Stellplatz ist an der Zufahrtsstraße, eigener Parkplatz mit Aussicht auf die Berge. Kein Strom, kein Wasser! Möglichkeiten zur Mitbenützung im Haus.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Katzen und Hunde sind willkommen, gefährliche Tiere lieber nicht.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week










Host ref number: 825753446285