Help grow vegetables for our household in the Central Coast region of California surrounded by rolling hills, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 340 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Next opening March 1, 2010 for one person only.

    We are a retired couple working to raise much of our own food. We are located in the Central Coast region of California surrounded by rolling hills of oak woodlands and local area vineyards; a quiet, peaceful setting ten miles from the nearest town. Our farm is six acres and home to goats, sheep, chickens, ducks, dogs, cats and some raised beds for our kitchen garden.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There's lots to learn and experience on the farm:
    Ongoing activities consist of gathering eggs, feeding and caring for the farm animals plus planting and maintaining the vegetable beds. We have many other skills to share including quilting, rug making, rug loom construction, bread making, cheese making, bone broth, food preservation and processing lambs & poultry depending on the season.
    2019/20 goals: Establish bigger area of edible herbs & berries. Several painting projects. Construct retaining wall. Build a greenhouse. Establish Bee Colony.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone interested in helping with our household vegetable gardens.

    You must be physically fit with a genuine interest in learning and contributing some help with the workload. We are looking for someone that is respectful, open minded, a positive attitude and able to work independently. Good communication skills and ability to speak and understand English. Someone with a love and appreciation of farm animals!
    Finding a good fit for the workawayer and the host:
    Communication is important and our goal is to provide an awesome experience for our Workawayer. Please e-mail us with your questions, any work or workawaying experience you have, what farm aspects interest you and what you would hope to gain through time at our farm. If you have allergies or special dietary requirements please address them in your initial email. We do not accept workawayers with children or pets; no smokers, no drugs. We require references or a minimum of two reviews on your profile. We also ask that you carry medical or travel insurance, please confirm in your email that you do. You will receive a reply within 24 hours. We only accommodate one person at a time. Minimum one month or long term preferred.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Food/Meals:
    We are a semi-retired couple. We enjoy delicious, healthy, home cooked meals. We have a plentiful supply of eggs, goat milk, goat cheese and vegetables from the garden. We raise and process most of our meat; lamb and poultry. If you’re interested in fermented food with all their probiotics, we make kefir, kombucha and fermented veggies including kimchi. The menu is mostly organic and we avoid processed, packaged “food.” We can accommodate gluten-free and low carb diets Be aware you will be helping to process lamb & poultry on our farm. We have our meals together and expect participation in meal preparation and clean up.

    Accomodations, location and other information
    Workawayer accommodations consist of a 19′ travel trailer with heat & air conditioning and a comfortable bed. We are out in the country, nearest town is 20 minutes drive however there is a bus/train station 40 minutes away and pick up and drop off can be arranged. Our workawayers are our guests and included in our activities as part of the family. I go into town once a week to do errands which always include a visit to the library; you are welcome to join me. A great place to get away from the busy city life; there is no tv reception here, only verizon cell service works. It’s an ideal environment for someone seeking quiet time for reading, writing, drawing, etc. There’s walking/hiking in the hills or through the vineyard & swimming in the pool during warm weather.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located just one hour from the Pacific Ocean (the beach), Monterey Peninsula, Santa Cruz, San Jose, or the Pinnacles National Park. Two hours drive to San Francisco or Big Sur. There are three wineries within one mile of farm.
    Area recreation include swimming, hiking and bicycle riding.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours per day 5 days a week

Baby chicks arrive in the spring
19' travel trailer
Growing organic vegetables



Host ref number: 823789339353