Experience Life on A Horse Farm in Malaysia

Country

Malaysia

Favourited 321 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    354

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I are retired and now spend all our time caring for our horse farm. Our farm is situated on 60 acres and there are 52 horses of various breeds here. We are non-profit which means whatever we earn in giving riding lessons, leasing of horses and corporate programs go to the welfare of the horses and the upkeep of our facilities.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    People who love horses and love being with horses will benefit the most. We also teach those who want to learn to ride in exchange for caring for the horses. We are also involved in conditioning horses for endurance riding; therefore people who want to learn and understand the sport in-depth will also benefit.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people who love animals and would like to experience our way of life. Our horses require people to help groom and feed them and keep their stables clean. We welcome people who have riding experience to help exercise the horses. We also participate in equestrian competitions in the country. We do charity programs for disabled children and those with special needs. Our programs use equine facilitated learning and coaching methods to assist development in children.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Malay

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide twin sharing chalets and dormitories for 3-4 people to share, all with en-suite bathrooms. Food is catered for but we have a no alcohol policy on our premises. Workawayers can also cook if they wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The attractions close to our farm includes the historical city of Malacca where the remnants of Dutch colonial buildings still stand. About 30 minutes away is Port Dickson with its many beaches. Volunteers can also explore our very own tropical jungle which lies on our property. We have a spare car that volunteers can use on their day off provided they show a valid international driving license.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.7)























Host ref number: 822952424554