Help me out around the house, in the heart of the Alps, Austria, Tyrol

  • Austria
  • Favourited 300 times
  • Last activity: 14 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hi I'm Ambros, I work as a shepherd in the Alps. I'm looking for help in and around my cabin. Please notice that there is no street, not even a dirt road up there. You have to walk between 2-3 hours to reach the cabin from the nearest bus stop.

    I'm in charge of the cows up there and I also run a small business with some drinks and local food from the farmers and accomodation. Usually I'm able to do the business stuff myself.
    Your task would include: making wood, doing the dishes and carrying stuff up and down the mountainvalley. Of course you'll have plenty of time to hike in the beautiful surrounding area. There are a lot of beautiful places to discover
    It is a very simple cabin with not a lot hot water and a very simple toilet, like in the old days.
    One more time, the only access to the cabin is by foot. From the nearest busstop it's between 2-4 hours hike, depends on your fitness, sometimes i can arrange a shuttle for half of the track but thats not certain. The cabin is located above the "Tillfussalm" from there it is a 1-1,5 hour trail up to 1925m. If you have any questions just ask me.
    Greetings Ambros

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The hard life and work in the Alps as a Sheppard, i`ll teach you everything about cows, how and when the eat, what is important to look for (diseases pregnancy) how to make a good fence, Also i know a lot about wildlife and nature up there.

  • Help


    Making fire wood, help cleaning the cabin and dishes, bring different kind of stuff up and down to the hut.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Single seperate room, not much hot water as it comes from the kitchen- oven. I`ll update pictures in the spring, because now the cabine is not reachable because of snow. Its a very simple cabine, simple but with charme,

    There is breakfast lunch and dinner included. I´ll baking bread every evening.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can do a lot of hiking and mountaineer also watching the flora and fauna in the evening is very impressive

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 819763942519

Feedback (4)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join our family and help with our adorable triplets in Vienna, Austria
Welcome to our busy family home in Villach, Austria