Salt Spring Island paradise looking for carpentry skills in Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Jorge & Annika! We moved to Salt Spring Island from Vancouver in 2016 to realize our vision of an artistically intentional and community-oriented way of life surrounded by nature. Jorge is a residential designer from Brazil and we restored our 1938 farmhouse where we live on the 5 acre property before designing & building the beautiful gallery space that is part of our Farm, Gallery and Bed & Breakfast. We have two young girls (7 years and 4.5 years old) and we both work "from home", (in the gallery on the property). We are a short 10 minute walk from the busy little town of Ganges. We are looking for someone to live on our property, close to our home, in a tiny cabin that functions as our b&b in the fall/spring/summer months.

    We are looking for someone with carpentry skills only at this time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our traveller would have the opportunity to enjoy the outdoors (our property backs onto provincial park trails) and explore our beautiful island, be part of a fun community!

    There is also a wood burning sauna that could be used when guests/clients aren't booked in and other people staying on the property.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We hope to have someone live in our tiny house here on Salt Spring Island while doing an addition to the outside of it on a pre-existing deck. My husband is an architectural designer who designed the simple addition and we have all the wood. This can be a 2-3 month project/stay. It is only suitable to a single person with building/carpentry experience.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A beautiful little tiny-house with small kitchen and seperate bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Salt Spring Island has an exciting wellness community as well as a very rich artistic community. If you love art and yoga and the outdoors, this is paradise!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have excellent high speed internet all over our property and both parents work from home in a beautiful shared studio gallery space.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    It could be possible to accommodate someone in their own camper van depending on the situation.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Possibly, depending on the situation.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 4-5 days a week



Host ref number: 816265113712