How about the Beautiful Forest of Dean, England?

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 194 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    43  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    149

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am so sorry but my husband it very ill and I am unable to host during 2019 after all. With our household in turmoil it is not fair to bring workways into this situation. Apologies for any inconvenience.

    We are a farming family of six. Our three oldest children have left home but come back frequently. They are a recruitment consultant, a musician and my daughter is at university. Our 16 year old boy at school and is the only one left at home.

    We have traveled the world and done voluntary work so know what it is like.

    We have a working sheepdog and a cat and Good internet access.

    We have a caravan available which is very comfortable. Meals would be with the family. You may be helping out with jobs (that suit you) but we never forget that you are our guest.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would be happy to help with travel arrangements/learning language and culture. Our farm would provide a great base while you explore. We are totally flexible with hours/days worked. My daughter hopes to travel as a workaway so thought it was a good idea to host first.
    We try to take workaways out to see local area. There is also a selection of bikes that can be used.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a farm (beef/calves/arable) so need a bit of light (SAFE) help. We also have a holiday cottage and some rental cottages which need basic work such as painting, little gardening, putting out bins, cleaning etc. I would love some help in the farm garden which gets abandoned each year at haymaking time.

    We would be so glad of any help and would fit around the work-aways guest, so whatever they are best at or prefer we will try to accommodate. We are so varied it really would not matter what their skills we can fit them in.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A caravan on our farm in the Forest of Dean, within walking distance of bus stop/s, shop, pubs, post office etc. Nice garden. Cleaned each week and very cosy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are endless walks locally, The farm is beautiful for bird watching/painting/photography etc. Not far to Ross-on-Wye and Gloucester. Local tennis club, lots of village activities. We have lots of local attractions in and around the Forest of Dean. I have done quite a lot of voluntary work before I had a farm. My husband has traveled the world and loved meeting new people. The Farm is on bus routes but we go all over the place so can give lifts. Good local young farmers club if interested and would research anything that the work away was interested in to ensure they enjoyed the stay.

    A Typical day at the Farm.
    All gather in Kitchen around 8.00 am and have breakfast (everybody grabs whatever they want). We discuss the jobs for the day ahead and set off for work at 8.30 am.
    We start with the little calves. Bed up with straw, feed and check. We then feed and bed up the beef cattle (these routines take about and hour).
    We do odd jobs until about 10.00 am or 10.30 (usually a bit of tidying up or chopping some wood). Then it is half an hour for coffee/tea and biscuits.
    After coffee there is a huge range of jobs until 1.30 when it is lunch time. You may be gardening, cutting grass, helping clean holiday cottage, putting washing on line, helping with some basic maintenance work or some farm work. We would only give you jobs that you are comfortable with so you tell us what you like to do but sometimes you will surprise yourself with a task you have never done before.
    We have lunch: Again everybody helps themselves to anything they like (I keep cupboards/fridge and biscuit tin well stocked)?
    Afternoons and weekends are free to do as you wish. We try to organise some trips out.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

A painting of part of our farm in winter.

























Host ref number: 815918483945