Help me with renovation projects for my home in the center of Chiang Mai City, Northern Thailand

Country

Thailand

new host  

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/12/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello you lovely workawayers! I am Nok, a 27-year-old Thai woman who just came back from Europe after spending about 8 years there studying (European History) and working (As a parttime waitress, an aupair, a domestic helper, dog sitter, etc.). I have lived in England, Scotland, Spain, the Czech Republic, and Italy and visited places around Europe. Now I am back to my mother's hometown to renovate the house which she inherited from my grandparents. The house was designed and built by my uncle and the locals and is about 40 years old. Some parts are still in good condition but most areas need renovations, repairs, and artistic decorations. The house is in the centre of Chiang Mai old town (Central district or "Mueang Chaing Mai", only about 500 metres or 5 minutes walk from the Chiang Mai Gate, surrounded by local markets (5 mins away), several temples (one is right in front of the house), and the Chiang Mai walking streets which take place every weekend (5 mins away).

    The house has 2 big bedrooms (one with a king size bed, another with 2 double beds), 1 small empty room which can also be used as a bedroom, 1 living room, kitchen area which still needs a lot of work, 1 shower room with toilet. I stay with my uncle who works as an assistant for a vet clinic nearby. I plan to create some artistic workshops on Airbnb experiences platform using this house as a site in the future. I love DIY projects so I will also work with you in the house as well.

    Workawayers from any part of the world are welcome. I am used to having international guests in my place since I was an Airbnb host for 3 years in Edinburgh, Scotland. I was also a workawayer in Italy in October 2019. I am still new as a host on workaway (just started this November 2019) so please don't be scared away by the lack of reviews for this listing :P Please feel free to contact me for more infos :D

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are looking for a place to stay in the centre of Chiang Mai, a local Thai who can give you some recommendations for places to visit, where to eat nice local food and stuff, please consider my place. Local meals/ home cook meals are provided. The neighbourhood is very laid back and not so busy but full of nice bars, restaurants, and local markets. I have been a private Thai teacher (my part time work) in the past 5 years so I can definitely help you with Thai language skills if you are interested. During your stay, local northern Thai style food will be provided. We can go together to the fresh market (which is like less than 5 mins walk) to do some shopping together and I can give you some knowledge about Thai food :)

  • Help

    Help

    The helps I wish to receive from you can range from concrete walls demolition, laying floor tiles, painting walls, electrical wiring (I would like to learn a lot more about this), wood working, repairing window frames/roofs/repairing chairs, and other artistic works like creating wooden lamps, helping me with ideas for outdoor decors (with plants), doing mosaic arts for decors, using your own creativity to help brighten up this house and to make it become lively and with nice welcoming atmosphere. Now we have got more than a dozen of chicken and they lay eggs every day. I need someone to help me organise the area for the chicken, tidying the area and cleaning (I am thinking about building chicken house). The concrete ground in front of the house also needs to be swept almost every day, as well as the area in the house itself. Water pipe might also need some cleaning since water pressure in the shower room is a bit low.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Thai and English, and a tiny bit of German (would really love to learn Italian)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The biggest bedroom in the house with 2 double beds and a fan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For more information on this, you can ask me in person :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My aunts with the gate of the house and the view of the temple right in front of the house
The house which needs new paint and ideas for exterior decors
This is me :)
The market nearby
The market nearby
Saturday walking street "Wua Lai"
Saturday walking street "Wua Lai"
Sweet and sour glass noodles
Your bed
Living room
The shower room with toilet
Host ref number: 814726587123