Help us to create a family home in the beautiful Lot et Garonne, France

  • Favourited 16 times
  • Last activity: 6 Oct 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are a newly retired, married couple. We moved to live in France form Yorkshire nearly two years ago. We bought a disused hatchery and it’s our aim to restore it back to being a fabulous family home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience life in the Lot et Garonne countryside whilst being part of our family for your stay. Whilst our spoken french may be limited, we live in an area where french is openly spoken. We would make sure our guests get the opportunity to see as much (or as little!) of the area they have chosen to travel to. We understand and support, that knowledge and experience gained from travel is one of life’s richest gifts.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Help us with any of the following:
    Painting external walls with assistance from Hosts
    Restoring paving & planting feature garden & Veg garden.
    Gardening- pruning trees, weeding, cutting bamboo & helping to make an Eco Shower Cubicle from it.
    Helping to create a wilderness retreat around a lake & building a pontoon.
    Helping to build a boules court
    Helping to build a terrace
    Build a summer kitchen
    Help painting shutters
    Help making curtains & blinds/ replacing cushions for outdoor seating

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    In our home- Own room with shared facilities, on a farm complex (only a well behaved friendly dog!). Use of a gym & pool in season. Fishing is available on site. There is also plenty room for those who wish to do Yoga/ Tai Chi as part of their day to day routine.

    Should a group of friends want to volunteer together it may be possible for them to share a three room apartment with shared bathroom & kitchen (please message to check availability first)

    House Rules….

    Please remember at all times you are a guest in our home. Please respect our possessions and treat them and us with the respect we deserve.

    Food - supplies for 3 meals a day & local wine or beer will be provided on working days. You will be expected to provide food for yourself on none work days.

    Washing/Ironing - one wash load per week. Please bring own detergent. No shoes or trainers to be washed in the machines on site.

    Heating - out of season heating will be provided. Excessive use of electrical items, unauthorised use of heating in season may attract a charge.

    Internet - standard day to day use of the internet is allowed. Downloading large files/films or data which could result in extra fines for the host will not be allowed. Further charges could apply.

    Toiletries - Shampoo, conditioner, deodorant, toothpaste are not provided - please bring your own.

    Work wear - please be sure to pack sensible workwear, shoes and gloves where the type of work you have volunteered for necessitates this.

    Security -if you unlock a door please be responsible enough to then lock it after you. Failure to do so could void the host’s insurance policy.

    Apologies for having to clarify the above.

    We are a strictly Non smoking household.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live very peacefully in the countryside. As our home is in a remote position, you would benefit from having your own transport for sightseeing, as public transport is not readily available.

    We live in a farming community so, so as to not upset our neighbours and in accordance with french law, parties and social events at the premises must end by 23.00.

    There are many places to visit and things to do around us.
    The city of Bordeaux and the Atlantic Coast is approx 2hrs away, Bergerac 40 mins away. The Bastide towns of Eymet, Duras, Villereal are all within easy reach. For those loving water sports there are many facilities for canoeing, paddle boarding etc on the River Lot about 30-40 mins drive away. There are lovely walks in the countryside from where you can enjoy the gorgeous scenery. Many local restaurants where you can enjoy traditional french cooking. In summer there are a number of night markets where there is food & entertainment. There is a good public transport network from Agen with high speed trains to Paris. Nearest airport is Bergerac but if you have your own transport or if you are able to hire a car we are also easily accessible from Toulouse, Brive, Limoges (all within 2hrs)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can accommodate camper vans and motor homes. Showers and toilets are provided nearby the parking facilities.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week Mon - Fri (no weekends)

Host ref number: 811385451847

Feedback (4)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)