Learn about permaculture and help with our garden on Krk Island, Croatia

Country

Croatia

Favourited 85 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a little village on Krk Island, Croatia. We are a family of 3 (me, my boyfriend and his papa) + 3 little dogs, a few cats, an old(er) donkey and some chickens. 🙃
    We have a big garden that we take care of (different veggies.. a lot of tomatoes, then paprikas, eggplants, swisschard, salads, kale, onions, carrots, melons, cucumbers, spinatch, beetroot.. ) and a few friut trees. We do no dig (gardening). We have a big house that is not finished yet and that we want/will rebuild with natural materials. We took permaculture classes and now implement what we have learnd in our garden and life. We need help with the garden mostly, maybe some building projects from time to time (like building a chicken caravan, wash and pack station etc).
    We want to be Market Gardners and produce high quality organic veggies. We also want to make our place/farm an education center and have classes about natural farming and building, permaculture, yoga and other skills that we find meaningfull and important for our and comunity development.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning about organic gardening, regenerative agriculture techniques and animal care.
    Have the best fun with our 3 little dogs :D
    Borrow our bikes and our backpacks to explore the Island (or the other ones near us - Cres and Lošinj).
    Do sport climbing with us.
    Can go swimming and sunbathing every day.
    Eat good local food (fish if you catch some 😉) and our so so so tasty veggies. 🙃🌱
    Meet the locals and see how we live here in Croatia.
    Learn a new language..

  • Help

    Help

    Mosty gardening - picking the tomatoes and other veggies, cleaning the beds (in which they grow), watering, planting and sowing new veggies. We also want to clean the stable and make it into a workshop. From time to time we will need help with some building projects like making a chicken caravan, a moving stable for the donkey, maybe wash and pack station for our veggies..

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You are free to use and sleep in (ours or yours) hammock, tent, camper 😊
    We have an outdoor composting toilet and shower and you can use what is in our fridge (we mostly eat vegetarian, sometimes some fish) and our kitchen for cooking (we will use it and cook together often i belive).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are a lot of hike and bike trails on Krk. If you like bigger mountains some are close too. You can swim and sport climb.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is enough place for parking all size campers

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We like animals, but also have chickens running araound, 3 dogs and 5 cats so the guest animals need to be friendly with them. No chasing and picking on the chickens.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 811181515716