Childcare help wanted in the French mountains, Rhône-Alpes (French or German language required)




Favourited 65 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Dear Workawayer! We are a family with 4 children (Paulette, 5 years old, Vitali, 3 years old, Charlize and Rosie, born in January 2019 and their parents Christine, 38 and Vahé 41) living in the beautiful mountain area between the lake of Geneva and Mont Blanc. Our house is an old farm house, not far from the village, which is a ski resort in winter and in summer good for any other mountain activities (climbing, hiking, bicycling, swimming in the lake...).
    We can provide a 60qm flat (the whole 2nd floor of our house) with kitchenette and bathroom. You can be completely independent on your own there.
    Our family is open minded and international, the father comes from the south of France, and the mum is German. French is the main language spoken in our family, even though Christine speaks German to the children. Before coming to this region we spent 6 years in China. The parents are both working part-time in Geneva, Christine is in maternity leave until this summer and Vahé practice acupuncture and phytotherapy.
    We follow the approach of mindfulness and try to educate our children in this way. The most important for us is to live in peace and harmony with the nature. We try to cultivate a part of vegetables on our own and prefer organic and local products as we appreciate a good nutrition. The time we spent in Asia made us lovers of the Chinese kitchen, we like a lot vegetarian or even vegan products but don't exclude meat and also love BBQ.
    You should love children, ideally have already experiences with and child care of young children, like the countryside and the mountains and be a positive and calm person who loves to share with us.
    Condition: German or French language !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    French and German language and culture, gather experiences in child care/ gardening/ building, benefit from the beautiful nature of this great mountain region and the proximity of Switzerland and cities like Geneva, Lausanne, Annecy...

  • Help


    accompany the older children (5 and 3 years) to activities e.g. mountain sports, play with them, help the mum with the daily house work (tidy up, laundry...), gardening (vegetable garden), possibly: help in child care of the two newborn girls, renovation (redecoration) of some rooms if you like and have time

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, German, English, Russian, Chinese

  • Accommodation


    independent small flat (50 qm) with bathroom and kitchenette in the upper floor of our house. This type of accommodation gives you the possibility to be independent, even though we hope you will like it to share the meals with us and to spend time with us. Of course we expect that you keep clean your place and help with the preparation of the meals and everything around.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we can provide a car sharing

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    depends (max 25 hours)

Host ref number: 796652884613