Help founding an international meeting centre in Skalka by Nová Bystřice, Czech Republic

Country

Czech Republic

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    88

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    As a retiree returning home after living for about 20 years abroad I need to spend the rest of my life active - doing something interesting and useful. That's why I want to turn the former cow-house in Skalka by Nová Bystřice into an international center and the land around into an ecological garden. As a recycling freak I also try to find utilization for almost anything before I finally decide to throw it away.

    The center is divided in two areas : my living space with all facilities and rooms to host you ; and the cultural center itself, which isn’t totally ready yet. The cultural center will mainly consist in an international library offering a large range of recycled foreign books, mainly in English : fiction, books for kids, magazines ... I’d also like this room to be a place for debates and discussions between the guests.
    There will be a special area dedicated to kids and games.
    My project is still at its beginning, so feel free to come with any kind of suggestions ... also the advice how to generate money for the beneficial project would be appreciated ;-)

    !!! Be aware, that the area is called Czech Canada for a reason. Even in Summer it can be cold, which can be uncomfortable for those used to warm climate. !!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I’d like this place to become a meeting point for cultural exchange : by living with other international residents you will have the opportunity to learn from many different cultures and way of life. We could also manage to organize some regular debate times in the library.
    All the international books of my library are at your disposal, so there is plenty to learn from !
    The travelers can also learn a bit about our history as my place is in a historically interesting area near the border with Austria. During the communist era it was part of the frontier zone, there are several extinct villages nearby with only crosses commemorating former German population, that was evicted after the WWII.

  • Help

    Help

    I don’t except any special tasks from you : the main goal is simply to share the experiences and learn from cultural differences by living together. Of course you are welcomed to offer your help with the daily routines, for instance by preparing some traditional food from your countries.
    If you would like to, help with cleaning and arranging the different living rooms will be appreciated. Any artistic talent can be used to decorate the rooms ; indeed only some walls have already been painted, for instance with a Lord of the Ring’s theme, but there is still much left to do.
    Help and knowledge with gardening can be useful to launch the ecological garden project.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Czech, English, German, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two inside rooms with beds and mattresses are intended for accommodation. You will have access to facilities like bathroom and kitchen, for now sharing with me, later hopefully separate. There is also plenty of space outside for your own tents.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The village is in a region called Czech Canada surrounded by great countryside. There are many places of interest in the neighborhood, including disappeared villages, narrow-gauge train line and several towns with beautiful architecture. Jindřichův Hradec, approx. 25km away is a beautiful town with a swimming pool and the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Telč, located approx. 40 Kms away offers apart from its cultural heritage some sport activities (climbing wall for instance).
    My aim is to attract people of all ages and from different ways of life. Especially young people and/or families with the interest in learning and multicultural exchange could profit from the visit as I like to advise others to explore our beautiful nature, towns, castles and other places of interest.
    Depending on circumstances I may be able to drive you to some places in the neighborhood or at least lend you a bike and a map.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week from June till September

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 791917481721