Volunteers needed on an organic dairy farm South West VIC, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, welcome to our Organics Farm; spring time is here, summer around the corner. Our family of four with many animals attached. Kiwi people living in South West Victoria. Home to the Grampians, close to Portland and the beaches 40mins away. A Dairy farm in conversion to Organic Dairy Farm. We are at present converting to an Organic system of farming, and adding to the adventure, growing organic fruit, vegetables, herbs and berries, and Snails... yes snails, often our chickens prevent our snails life span from being a long one.

    I am a Secondary Teacher and part time on the farm. Plenty of room to park up your car or bike. We are an active family and prefer a non smoker. Netball club close, soccer in winter, basketball all year round. AFL but no rugby close... very hard to live with this but we do. Closest town has multiple Gyms and an Aqautic centre.

    A family of many Interests, we would like to have you join us on our adventure in permaculture, organics, farming and living in the country,. WELCOME to WALLACEDALE, Victoria Australia.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Language...local area has local indigenous tourist sites. Local aussies they are pretty cool neighbours and I work in local high schools so if you have an interest in education. Sports galore and a train ride to Melbourne for you city lovers. In the country with many beautiful local attractions.

    So come experience a bit of New Zealand in Australia.

  • Help

    Help

    Come work with us on our Organic dairy farm. We would ove to share your knowlwdge . Help in the Dairy milking cows...working with the horse, dogs,cats, Tractor work( good to have driving license) Gardening, setting up new growing spaces love a keen gardener or someone interested in learning and sharing their skills. We share in the housework... would be awesome if you had Carpentry skills a few good fix up jobs to be taken care of. Bee keeping, permaculture come share your lnowledge.
    We would love to have a person from a very different culture as this will add variety and give our family some cultural exchange.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own big Room Queen bed. Or option of caravan outside by garage. Food always plenty. Cooking is shared...lunch your on your own. Breakfast and dinner with family. Love to learn new recipes. The house is a shared space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to lots of outdoor activities. Mountain range...Water...Beaches although right now its winter...Local pubs...trains and buses can take you exploring. Our local townships are farm driven and have all the basics..movies pools and pubs. See you soon.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week


Host ref number: 791288236162