Be surrounded by nature on the Mornington Peninsula, south of Melbourne, Victoria



Favourited 43 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hi. We are Rob and Deb and just over a year ago we made a "tree change". We retired from our full time jobs as scientist and psychologist, sold our suburban home in Canberra and moved to a 10-acre property on the Mornington Peninsula, south of Melbourne, Victoria. We have three mud brick houses and lovely ornamental gardens, surrounded by nature reserves on three sides. Out back we have a newly established vegetable garden and orchard, along with a berry patch and poultry yard with chooks and ducks. Next we will be planting new native plants around the property. We're learning as we go and we've got a mountain of work to do and need help. There's lots to do in our neighbourhood. Devilbend reservoir and nature reserve is across the road and offers walks, mountain bike riding (borrow ours) kayaking and fishing. We are situated in the middle of the peninsula so Port Phillip Bay and Westernport Bay are each only 15 minutes away. Plenty of great beaches, good fishing and quaint townships. Our region is blessed by beautiful vineyards and there is some superb wine to be had. This is also a foodie haven with lots of artisan food production and farm gate sales located nearby. Deb and I have travelled extensively and love new cultural experiences.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful part of the world and have lots of life experience that we are eager to share.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need help tidying up forest litter, planting trees and shrubs, and making compost. There is always a lot of food preserving to do. We also need help renovating an old shed. You need to be strong and it's a real asset if you have some experience in gardening or building.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You would be staying in the same house as us and we have two good size bedrooms with queen size beds available for our visitors. We have a couple of separate living areas so we can space out on the evenings if you want some quiet time. We will provide all meals but would welcome your participation in meal preparation if and when you feel like it. We have internet. We have wood fired heating, 3 bathrooms and a HUGE garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live about 60 mins drive from Melbourne CBD and about 20 mins from Frankston railway station, which connects to the CBD. Transport is really limited around here so you will need your own car to explore the area. If you don't have a car we can pick you up and drop you off at the railway station every now and then. We are also happy to show you around the peninsula a bit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 789889998951