Siberian husky loving helper with a sense of humour needed in Lapland Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 174 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE *️️*️️ currently NO DATES OPEN for this coming winter.
    Thank you to the wonderful volunteers who are going to help us threw the coming winter season!

    The Coppernose kennels trail Cabins season starts in September threw to the thaw, which normally starts in April.
    We are looking for one fun outdoor loving person for the first six weeks of our season.
    We moved from Scotland uk to southern Lapland Sweden in the summer of 2016 with 17 Siberian sled dogs and five furry house monsters! This has become 26 sled dogs and sadly now only 3 furry house monsters, this move and venture was meant as a semi retirement plan, but it hasn't quite worked that way!


    We created "Coppernose kennels trail cabins" in 2017; We don't run a traditional tour Kennel, although we offer cabin guests a passenger sled rides. This is a young business and we are aiming to create the "life below zero" experience, in wilderness cabins.

    What kind person do we need?
    You must love dogs, understand these guys are high energy and working dogs, you need to be fit, sharp enough to learn how to drive a dog team, and have awesome reflexes (those dogs can be quick :) you will be helping to take care of the 25 cuddly monsters.
    You need to have good self awareness, initiative, balance and the ability to think on your feet.
    Oh did we mention you need to enjoy snow shovelling? (great work out)

    You must love snow, the wilderness and the whole living in Lapland concept, it helps here... Embrace extreme temperatures and like having BBQs at -20c ,you need to be prepared to snow shoe with guests and then help changeover a cabin, help make trails for dog sleds, have no issues with getting up in the morning!
    And you will get to speak to guests when making ready dog teams for sled rides.

    Being here is not a free holiday, but you do get opportunities to x country ski, snow board, ice fish, spend time with dogs, enjoy cosy evenings, see northern lights. The days are often planned by the weather so flexibility and understanding is a must when it comes to working hours and days off. Some days are very quiet, others we are all busy!

    Accommodation is, live as a member of the family, without giving us extra work in the house ;)

    Interested?

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an Scottish English speaking household, and very passionate about the dogs, if you want to learn a little about dogs and how they live together, work and how to care for their minds and bodies.

    I think you can take something positive from every experience in life and it isn't always what you expect :)

  • Help

    Help

    WINTER TIME Primarily dog care, (poop collecting, feeding, exercise and helping to run them) helping bust new sled trails, putting out snow poles, re supplying and cleaning cabins, helping to bring wood into the house, and tidying up after your self, snow shoeing and helping with guests. Being my assistant (mostly with the dogs) or helping to repair things that fail during the winter cold!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Doric

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Here you live as family ,so we all help out in the kitchen, learn cooking from each other, we eat together and tidy up after our selves.
    It's a quitet household (apart from the house monsters telling you it's time to go out) we do have tv , limited wifi, as there is no telephone cables here. The house is very warm, and cosy.
    We are meat eaters, but vegetarians are welcome, I do have asthma so strict rules about strong fragrances ie No aerosol deodorant, perfume, etc

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the wilderness,so there is limited transport links, so you kinda need to enjoy exploring x country , snow shoing, walking dogs, ice fishing, reading a good book, writing, photography, or maybe you have a bicycle with ice studs? If you crave night clubs and bars this is not the place for you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours / week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)





Host ref number: 789719794615