Help us with our garden and reconstruct our greenhouse in Sheffield, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Toria ( my wife ) and myself are keen gardeners and DIY-ers. We spend our time since finishing work on many practical volunteer projects and in the garden. Our son and daughter have left home and we have travelled a lot. We enjoy literature, art, yoga, and meditation and meeting people. We have been volunteers ourselves on many charitable projects. We are predominantly vegetarian, occasionally cook vegan, and try to grow our own fruit and veg. We are situated only 20 minutes from the city but with 70 acres of woodland on our doorstep. We have a good size garden and several allotments only a minute away. We also swim and watch films at home and in the cinema.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will doing some rough garden work, assembling the green house, pruning and basic woodwork in making a fruit cage 3m by 5m by 2.2 high, sharing the cooking but not the cost, optional extras are yoga, art, meditation and creative writing. We can introduce you to homeopathy, building maintenance, making vegan pancakes, bread and cakes, knowing about timber, and possibly grafting fruit trees.

  • Help

    Help

    This winter we are reconstructing our greenhouse, and making a fruit cage, and clearing the allotments, and pruning the plum and apple trees. There will be wet weather alternatives, making a bed frame in the studio, and stripping a wall of wallpaper and baking bread and cakes. The allotment will be strong boot work , On the greenhouse you will not need to handle glass, the fruit cage is only basic woodwork, ladders only up to 5 feet high; in the evening there is time to relax with art and books.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some general phrases in French and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have for guests ,one single room and one room with double bed. Two shower and toilet rooms, and big extended kitchen, diner and also the art studio. We have WiFi and a TV and Radio/cd player.We heat the living room with a log burning stove and cook on the gas hob and electric oven and microwave. We enjoy cooking and if you wish you can cook also.We live in an extended detached house on the south of Sheffield, and we do not allow smoking in the house. We do not have space for pets, and our project would not be suitable for children. It is a warm house on the main city bus route.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off can be a one hour walk in Graves park, a twilight swim in the new indoor public swimming pool, a free admission visit to the Millennium Art Gallery or a visit to a poetry writing evening, and a visit to a Church or Buddhist centre. We are on the bus route out and into if the city of Sheffield. We ourselves have travelled in India, Africa , S Ameirica and New Zealand, and do voluntary work here in the dynamic city of Sheffield. The bus to the city is very near, and only takes 22 minutes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 789122131646