1 / 5

Help with my permaculture garden and with renovation projects at my 18th century country house in Bouquet, France

  • Favourited 75 times
  • Last activity: 12 Mar 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My name is Hélène and I am an artist and landscape designer, living in and restoring an 18th century house in the south of France. I am also a gardener and have a big permaculture garden where I grow my own vegetables and fruits. I live in the middle of nature, in a small hamlet and it is a very quiet area. A good place to enjoy the nature, either by relaxing in a chair in the garden or going for a walk in the surrounding forest.

    The renovation of the house is a big project and it takes a lot of time to plan and manage the work being done here. Therefore, I need help around the house and in the garden. I am looking for someone who can help with tasks independently and sometimes take care of the place, if I am away for a few days. I provide accommodation and food for 5 hours of work, 5 days a week and you will have Saturday and Sunday off.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can help you improve your French or you can help me improve my English. I can teach you about permaculture and organic gardening. I’m also happy to teach you some French cooking.

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the year there is plenty of tasks in the garden: preparing beds for planting and sowing, watering, weeding, and harvesting.

    In and around the house there are different handy man projects such as painting, rendering, putting up inner walls, organising a tool room/workshop, moving things and cleaning up.

    I would also appreciate someone who is willing to cook lunch for us during the week.

    I am especially looking for someone who has experience with building natural stone walls and/or setting a natural stone floor (courtyard), and a joiner to help make cupboards, repair the shutters, etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room with a bathroom. We share the kitchen and the living room area, and of course the garden and outdoor areas.

    I provide healthy and organic food, and most vegetables and fruits are locally produced, if not from my own garden. We will normally eat breakfast and lunch together, dinner can be eaten together or separately. You are of course welcome to use the kitchen as much as you like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many beautiful small villages in the area and plenty of walking and hiking trails. The Mont Bouquet (629 m high) is close and so is the small town Uzès, where there is a big market on the weekend. The national parks of Cévennes and Ardèche are about an hour drive away and offer great hiking trips. The cities Nîmes and Avignon are also an hour away.

    There is limited public transportation, but I can pick you up at Alès train station or at the bus station in Uzès. If you want to explore the area, you need a car or bicycles (I can lend you bicycles).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 785812996321

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)