Help in an organic farm in the North of Barcelona (Pre-Pyrenees), Spain -Setting up a Waldorf School

Country

Spain

Favourited 242 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 26 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are Andy and Lluïsa. We live in an old farm house in the Catalan Pre-Pyrenees, north of Barcelona. We are lucky to live in the middle of nowhere, our nearest neighbour being 1km away! We live in a forest of red pine, oak and beech trees, with lots of wild life (boar, deer, foxes, many different birds and butterflies). There are thousands of hiking and BTT paths and a river with lovely swimming holes in the property (great refreshing break in summer). The place blossoms with wild flowers in Spring and with fruit in Autumn.

    Andy is an Irish stonemason by trade, who loves working with wood and metal. He grew up in an organic farm and has a strong connection to animals. He is a strong hard worker with a great sense of humour. He is into natural building, permaculture and making things (anything really!).

    Lluïsa is Catalan and works organising fairs and markets, and got into herbalism. She has studied antoposophy/ Waldorf education, works as a yoga teacher in the local village and loves cooking healthy meals for family and friends. The children grow fast (5yo and 2yo) and love discovering the wild wonders of the property and foraging food.

    We met few years ago travelling the world. We worked in many different countries with very different people. 5 years ago we decided to settle down in North Catalonia to restore an old family building with the intention to become self-sufficient. What we miss the most about travelling is meeting people from diverse backgrounds and learning from different cultures. We would now love to keep travelling from home through our volunteers and visitors.

    Our project is not small but will slowly but surely come along. We are restoring the old farm house with natural materials mainly from the area (stone, clay, lime, wood, hemp...). ELECTRICIAN WILL BE VERY WELCOME!!! We are claiming back the old terraces to grow organic vegetables and medicinal herbs, following biodynamic principles. We plan to have different buildings inspired by cultures from around the world, made with natural materials so we can host people who would like to be back in tune with nature away from electromagnetic radiation. We are building a school in the woods. Anyone with Waldorf education experience will be very welcome!!!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to work with a very skilled stone mason and carpenter, with long experience in natural building and organic farming. You can discover the rural environment and its sustainability, learn about medicinal herbs in the area and local traditional uses. You could practice your English with Andy and learn Catalan or Spanish with Lluïsa and practice it in the local village. *️️️PLEASE NOTE WE ARE IN RURAL CATALONIA, WHERE PEOPLE CAN SPEAK SPANISH BUT IT IS NOT THEIR MOTHERTONGUE *️️️IF YOU COME TO LEARN SPANISH ONLY THIS IS NOT THE BEST PLACE *️️️

    You could also participate actively in a program organised by our local cultural association to bring the crafts from different culture to the local community, with a screening of a documentary or movie from the selected culture and a workshop to learn about their traditional crafts. Would you like to share your skills with them and be an active part of the community?

    Even tough we have a glass of wine or beer here and there, IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A PARTY PLACE OR TO BE HOOKED ON THE SOCIAL MEDIA, please keep looking elsewhere. If you enjoy the outdoors, want to connect with nature and are willing to help and to share your skills with likeminded people, you will be very welcome :-)

  • Help

    Help

    In this collaborative project, we are looking for skilled people to help us build different structures from scratch. That involves clearing the area and setting the grounds, building the structures, installing electricity, heating and plumbing, and finishing touches. People interested in carpentry, solar energy, masonry, forestry, organic farming, herbalism... will be very welcome: Experience is important for us but specially the right will and motivation. We would love to get you completely involved in the project, to leave your mark and add your bit to the place.

    *️️️UPDATE: RIGHT NOW WE ARE FENCING THE FARM AND WORKING IN THE GARDEN. ELECTRIC INSTALLATION IN THE HOUSE. NEXT: 8 SIDED POLE BUILDING FOR THE SCHOOL. PLENTY OF GARDENING, FORAGING AND PRESERVING IN THE SUMMER MONTHS. *️️️

    You will be involved in the following projects (depending on the timing of your stay):
    Putting up a 7m diameter original american tipi as a permanent structure from start.
    Building a 10m diameter pole round house with slate roof as a multidisciplinary space for farm volunteers.
    Putting up compost toilets and outdoor showers.
    Building a wood fired hot tub and sauna.
    Cob building -outdoor kitchen for the volunteers
    Clearing old terraces for organic farming.
    Clearing hiking paths and collecting firewood.
    Working in our herbal and veggie garden, foraging food from the area and helping in the processing if you like.

    We could also do some help with web and graphic design if you are into that :-)

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Irish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the weather and availability, you could be sleeping in the double bedroom in the main house, in a trailer tent or a big Canadian tent with bedrooms. UPDATE: RIGHT NOW WE CAN ONLY HOST PEOPLE WITH THEIR OWN ACCOMMODATION. We provide with basic vegetarian food for 3 meals during working days, which can be cooked by us or the volunteers. We have fresh organic produce in the land and we source locally what we don't have here. We expect people to clean after themselves and to cooperate in the running of the household. We are busy enough looking after our own children :-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of outdoors activities to do in the area. The mountains are full of hiking and BTT trails. There is a reservoir nearby where you could do some water activities such as kayaking. And also some great rock climbing sites with routes for all levels! And you could join any of Lluïsa’s yoga classes. The swimming holes are the best break in summer, just a 5 minute walk away!!!

    You can fly to Barcelona or Girona Airport and take a train to Ripoll, where we could pick you up. We are only 1 hour south of France and Andorra, if you come from that way. If you have a car much better since there are lots of hidden places to discover!!!

    We have internet but no mobile reception. We like to have a safe and free radiation place and we'd like to keep it like that. Whenever you need your phone, you could get reception in the village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We do not have any wifi or mobile reception in the property. We do have internet by cable.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    As we are setting up the infrastructure, we can only host volunteers with their own campers.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have two dogs and a cat. There is space for other friendly pets.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 783945196817