Agroecology and natural building in Sierra Nevada, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/02/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're starting a new project in a house from my family in the mountains of Sierra Nevada, in Spain. The land has been almost abandoned for many years. Height is around 1700 m above the sea level. The house is well kept and ready to use, it's the only part we've been using during that time, mostly in the summer, for family gatherings. There are fruit trees and other trees that need care. Our aim is to plant new trees (the land is more than 2,5 Ha, most of it covered of wild bushes). We're building a small greenhouse soon and have another couple of small projects with natural building techniques to start with.
    There's also need to fix some things in the house to make it more comfortable and make a better use of the space.
    We welcome people with interest and/or skills in agroecology, earth and straw construction, upcycling used materials, reducing waste and needs, degrowth...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will all learn together how to be sustainable in each aspect of our lives. Building, growing food, reducing waste, cooking, sharing...
    It's a path we're already following in our everyday life. This is another step: turning to life again a special place, following that path.

  • Help

    Help

    Basic building skills and use of machines and tools
    Some knowledge about building with natural materials
    Some knowledge about growing and caring fruit trees and vegetables

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A single room in a house in a quite isolated area, but not far from the road. The house is around half an hour far from Granada by car, going up to Sierra Nevada.
    Board and lodging included.
    There's plenty of space for a caravan, a van or a tent, in case.
    There's no public transport.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Granada is half an hour far from the place by car. In 10 minutes by car you can get to the ski station. There's no public transport.
    There are trekking itineraries near the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There's enough space in the property, but the road can be difficult for long vehicles

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have two dogs and a cat. Our dogs are medium-small size and not always friendly to other dogs, at least at the beginning, unfortunately. They have no problems with humans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Máximo 4-5 horas al día, 5 días a la semana


Host ref number: 782398261833