Agroecological Orchard, help us and discover the culture of the island of Chiloé, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/01/2022

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *Please contact host in Spanish

    We are a family of young farmers, aware of the environment in which we live, that for seven years we have built our home and life project.
    Our project is located in the middle of the large island of Chiloé; between native forest and sea we produce vegetables, collect fruits, take care of some bee hives for our honey consumption and take care of chilota horses.

    Somos una familia de agricultores, conscientes del medio en el que vivimos, que durante siete años hemos construido nuestro hogar y proyecto de vida.
    Nuestro proyecto se encuentra emplazado en medio de la isla de Chiloé; entre bosque nativo y mar producimos hortalizas (nuestro huerto cuenta con certificación orgánica), recolectamos frutos, cuidamos de algunas colmenas de abejas para nuestro consumo de miel y cuidamos caballos de raza chilota que nos ayudan a mantener fertilizada nuestra tierra.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Get to know a beautiful place, a lot of nature and local culture such as Chiloé. Knowledge: agroecological, local flora and fauna, construction and carpentry, gastronomy, practice of Spanish, as well as local culture.

    Conocer un hermoso lugar, mucha naturaleza y cultura local como lo es Chiloé. Conocimiento: agroecológico, de la flora y fauna local, de construcción y carpintería, gastronomía, práctica del español, así como también de la cultura local.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Collaboration in daily maintenance, construction and repair of spaces in the house and the garden.
    Bio-intensive organic garden work such as: work with the land in general, transplantation, irrigation, collection of manure, as well as work in the forest such as harvesting fruits and firewood.

    Colaboración en mantención diaria, construcción y reparación de espacios en la casa y el huerto.
    Trabajo en huerto orgánico Bio intensivo como: labores de trabajo con la tierra en general, trasplante, riego, recolección de estiércol, así como también trabajo en el bosque como recolección de frutos y leña.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Family house that has: rooms that can be individual and / or shared as the case may be, shared bathroom with shower and hot water.
    Food is provided five days a week. Weekends are free.
    There is in the house: electric light (supplied by solar energy) and natural spring water.
    The outdoor spaces offer meadow, forest, ocean views and spaces surrounded by native forest and flora in general.

    Casa familiar que cuenta con: habitaciones que pueden ser individuales y/o compartidas según sea el caso, baño compartido con ducha y agua caliente.
    Se proporciona alimento cinco días en la semana. Los fines de semana son libres.
    Existe en la casa: luz eléctrica (abastecida por energía solar) y agua natural de vertiente.
    Los espacios exteriores ofrecen pradera, bosque, vista al mar y espacios rodeados de bosque nativo y flora en general.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Confirmation of stay: we only ensure the stay, once the volunteer (s) have confirmed and provided the date of their arrival at our home.

    Approximate distances: The house is located in a rural area in the middle of the forest, 15 kilometers from a small town. We have our own mobilization and the closest transport route is approximately 7 kilometers from our field, heading to places from which you can access anywhere on Chiloé Island.
    The island of Chiloé has innumerable tourist places, viewpoints, parks, thematic museums and monuments such as heritage churches. The island also offers places where you can perform various outdoor activities.


    Confirmación de estadía: solo aseguramos la estadía, una vez que el o los voluntarios hayan confirmado y proporcionado la fecha de su llegada a nuestro hogar.

    Distancias aproximadas: La casa se encuentra ubicada en un sector rural en medio del bosque, a 15 kilómetros de una pequeña ciudad. Contamos con movilización propia y el transporte de recorrido más cercano se encuentra a 7 kilómetros aproximadamente de nuestro campo, con dirección a lugares desde los cuales se puede acceder a cualquier lugar de la Isla Chiloé.
    La isla de Chiloé cuenta con innumerables lugares turísticos, miradores, parques, museos temáticos y monumentos como lo son las iglesias patrimoniales. También la isla ofrece lugares donde se pueden realizar diversas actividades al aire libre.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 782265722323