Help an off-grid Sustainable & Permaculture project in the mountains of Turrialba, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Favourited 84 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! my name is Alba, Im originally from Spain, but I have spent a few years in Costa Rica already.

    Now I live in this beautiful and secluded spot between the mountains which is a 8 Ha property farm situated in a valley sorrounded by forest and the beautiful river Jicotea. Here, Im starting a sustainable permaculture project. Untill now I have been foucused in creating a small veggie garden, constructing a spring whater captation , a workshop building with a comunal kitchen and a cabin in the forest where to host other colaborators for the project. I live most time bymyself with my two dogs and a cat, as my partner works away from home .

    We live here for now with no electricity , and very little signal, wich is something that I enjoy very much since it keep us focused and a very calm vibe arround. However we are now studying the options to bring some power to the property.
    The mission of this projet is to be a space for learnning and experimenting the transittion to become more selfsufficient and sustainable while living in nature with a vision of abundance and prosperity for a family and a small community that could live here in the close future. we plan to grow in that direction through cultivating most of our food in a natural and much more conscious way and producing timber and other natural construction materials .

    We like to keep a simple life, enjoy to meet people from other cultures and would enjoy developing this space with the touch and vision of many different people that can share their knowledge and experiences while leaving here their footprint.

    We don´t use drugs apart of ocassionally some beer or wine. In order to keep the vibe and focus of the place and also to conserve a reputation with the institutions that support us and also the respect in this sometimes very traditional society ,we ask and expect visitors not to use weed or any other illegal substances.


    Id like to remaind volunteers that it is neccessary to have a health inssurance while you stay at the Finca. Nothing should happen , but beeing away from home is always smart to be cautious.

    THINGS YOU SHOULD BRING
    Flashlight
    Rubber boots
    Various pairs of long socks ( someytimes they can be wet for a few days)
    Raincoat
    Hat
    Sunprotection
    clothing ( long pants and sleeves, gloves...)
    Something warm for the cold nights ( some are very hummid and cool)
    Insect repellent
    biodegradable soaps and higene products
    Refillable bottle
    Solar chargers for the electronic devices you want to use while here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In this quiet and beautiful place you can find peace in the real conexion with yourself and others
    Having a very close experience living in nature away from hiperconectivity distractions.
    Learn communication tasks
    Farming


    SOME THINGS TO DO WHILE HERE:
    The area is an inland paradise for those who love nature and beeing close to the authentic rural life. This area is the craddle of rafting in the country, beeing close to the Pacuare river and also the door to a very beautiful and unexplored area of the Chirripó mountains, where the Cabécar indigenous culture inhabits.
    Hiking the active Turrialba Volcano
    Go hiking arround and explore the numerous rivers on the area
    Birdwatching ( this is a very rich place of the country for this activity)
    Biking (There is a bike for rent at the farm)
    Enjoy your time in the library, as I have many books and manuals of interest in sustainable matters, as other type of readdings and novels.

  • Help

    Help

    Experience is not required but will be valued moreover in the following areas. For now I can accept people for two weeks to a month with a first week trial period. I will study longer stays. Hours from Monday to Friday with weekends off , for about 5hrs a day. (Volunteers referably 25 years old or older )

    -Mantainning the veggie garden with tasks like:
    Planning the planting process, picking up mulch, creating compost and feeding the beds with it, cleanning the beds, planting.
    -Help in creating new beds in a terrace for cultivating and developing an agroforestry system .
    -Taking care of the animals , The Dogs, cat and Chickens .
    -Cooking for the group, in which we will take turns, and cleanning the dishes and kitchen.
    -Cleanning the communal and personal spaces, help with the shopping when needed and maitenance of the cabins.
    -Help in the details of construction of the main cabin for volunteers as creating an eatible garden for it.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shared accomodation in a big cabin in the forest. The place is very spacious with a big terrace to chill out , equiped with an outdoor dry bathroom and and outdoor shower .

    The main 3 meals are included, and shall be mostly vegetarian. Please let me now of any intolerance or allergy before your arrival. For now the access to specific ingredients is limited.
    We usually start the day with a tea or any hotdrink and some fruit, to be ready to start the day at 7am. After about two hours of help we shall have breakfast together. Same with launch , wich shall happen arround 1pm... You can enjoy your afternoons as your wish and also prepare your dinner in the shared kitchen when or how you prefer, only taking account to leave the shared spaces silent and clean before 9pm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a few buses per day in the closest Town , about 1.8 km away, that will take you to the city of Turrialba, from where you can explore many of the previous options. For more detail let me know and I can get the full schedule.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Máximo 5 horas al día, 5 días a la semana

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 781791923263