updated  

Experience country life with our family in Vildbjerg, Denmark

  • Favourited 77 times
  • Last activity: 26 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five: mother Sofie, father Casper, big brother Sebastian at the age of 5 years, little sister Emily at the age of 3 years, and little sister Sommer at the age of 1 year.
    Our farm is located in scenic surroundings near Herning.
    Our farm is interesting for you who like animals, nature, children, and to be on a farm, but near a big city at the same time.

    You can help us with following: rebuild the house, take care of the animals: we have a lot of ducks, some boars, and other funny animals like chickens and pea cocks. Every day we feed the animals and make sure that they have dry and good conditions.

    We bought our farm three years ago, and have a lot to do. There's always work to do at the animals. If you are not so interested in the animal work, we also need help for taking down buildings, cleaning in the house, brushing the yard, cleaning gutters, playing with the kids in the weekends, gardening, and in general improving the view of the farm.

    We would like to welcome you who is positive and flexible with the tasks.
    We prefer that you don't smoke, and that you are in a good condition (no sickness or back condition - we tried that, and it doesn't work on our farm with back condition).

    We have good experience in cooking for vegetarians and not vegetarians. We also have had vegan visitors, but admit that it's harder to cook for vegans. So are you living vegan, you are very welcome - we just recommend that you bring your special ingredients that makes sure you don't go to bed hungry. We have a lots of fruits and vegetables, and bread.

    Our specialty on the farm is to produce ducklings and chickens. We have a big incubator in which we hatch many eggs every year. Do you come from an interesting place with nice birds, ducks or geese - then we are very interested in receiving eggs to hatch - and to get new life on the farm. It may be parrots, quails, different types of ducks, geese, chickens... At the moment, we have big sussex chickens and black ayam cemani chickens. We also have white musk ducks.

    We look forward to hearing from you. Have a nice day!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about the Danish family life in the countryside, and learn about the Danish language. You will become wiser on the farm animals. We have wild boars, musk ducks, chickens, and peacocks.

    We are open to hear about your interests.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Animal care:
    Feeding, scattering straw, picking grass for the animals, mold out, lime barn, improve the areas of the animals. We are open to new ideas that will simplify everyday work with the animals.

    Gardening:
    Help us weed, prune fruit trees and generally keep the yard areas neat and tidy.

    Most of your help will go to the animals. We look forward to welcoming you to our farm.

    Children:
    In the weekends, the kids are home from kindergarten. Sometimes, it's a good help to play with the kids.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    Turkish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an apartment on our farm. You will have one room in the apartment. You can use the kitchen and bathroom. The apartment is shared with two fabric workers. Recently, we prepared our "eating room" for WorkAway'ers. It is placed downstairs for the apartment. It contains own toilet. Shower and kitchen is in the apartment upstairs.

    Food: We cook various kinds of meals. If you are interested in cooking, you are very welcome to help with the cooking. We use many ingredients from the farm, including meat, vegetables, eggs and fruits.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live about one kilometer from the asphalt road, where the bus 150 runs to Herning and Vildbjerg. Herning is a large city where you will find everything from shopping, restaurants to cultural experiences.

    The nearest train station is named Gødstrup St. It's only 4 kilometres from our farm.

    We have one bike extra which can be borrowed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a farm, so there's no limit to the size of the campervan.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

Host ref number: 776631743669

Feedback (7)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Help me create and expand a learning community and education centre in Asnæs, Denmark
Join our family and help turn a old farmhouse into a regenerative permaculture haven in Ringsted, Denmark