Help at our horse farm and explore Hörby, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 66 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a hard-working queer family of 4 - Linnea, Angelica and the two kids Milton (11) and Selma (9) who are staying with us biweekly. We just recently moved into our gorgeous little horse farm in the countryside, together with lots of Shetland ponies, two little kittens and a rabbit. We both work full-time (legal professional and building engineer, mostly working from home), but try to enjoy our new environments as much as we can. Linnea has lots of side projects - as a knitting pattern designer, a photographer and also non-profit work related to the horses. Angelica loves working in the garden and to work on different building projects around the farm. Milton plays computer games and handball and Selma takes dancing classes and watches a lot of youtube... but both are helping out at the farm whenever we work on different projects. Both of the kids speak a good basic English and especially Selma will be happy to practice it.

    Our farm has about 17.5 acres/7 ha of land, on which our horses graze and we also produce our own hay for them. Beyond that, we plan on growing some vegetables for our own use. Angelica also enjoys hunting, which may come in handy with all the wild boar around... We live just by the forest and the surroundings are absolutely beautiful! We are situated on the road between two small castles, with lots of traditional stone houses around us which are typical for the area. There's a big lake just 4 km away (excellent biking roads all the way) with nice sandy beaches for swimming in the summer. The town of Hörby is also 4 km away (14 min by bike) where there are some smaller shops, restaurants and cafes, as well as sports facilities such as an adventure swimming pool.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Linnea has a lot of experience of CouchSurfing and volunteer exchanges in the past, both as a host and guest as well, and has thoroughly enjoyed the type of cultural exchange this means. We are excited to be able to welcome Workawayers in our farm and hope that this will provide a fun cultural exchange (especially for the kids) apart from the help at the farm.

    If you want to travel around the area in your free time, there are plenty of cultural experiences to be had and we are happy to provide you with more info on places to visit on arrival.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are mainly looking for people with carpentry skills and carpentry experience, as this is the main need around the farm. Since we are both working full-time, we are looking for someone motivated and independent who doesn't need extensive supervising. You need to be able to work on your own and take initatives to carry out the things asked as we are too busy with our own work during the day and most of the time can't take the day off to instruct or help out. You can't be afraid to work hard and efficient, as the work around the farm is sometimes tough and heavy work. It's important to us with straight-forward communication and we expect that from you as well.

    Depending on your background and interests, there are lots of different tasks to do:
    - Building projects in the barn
    - Changing wooden boards and planks
    - Painting walls and fences
    - Fencing
    - Gardening work
    - Thinning out and cutting hedges, bushes and bushwood
    - Chopping firewood
    - Occasionally feeding & cuddling the animals and cleaning out their facilities (we take care of this ourselves mostly)
    - Other general maintenance tasks around the farm

    If you have horse experience, you're welcome to help with checking on them as well as setting up their feeding and mucking out (they run out 24/7 so usually no stabling).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Icelandic: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If you are looking for a vegan commune or a yoga/meditation type of environment, we are not your people. We are happy to share our every day life if everything works well, but we work hard and we work a lot and we also need our personal space. We also expect whoever is here with us to pull their own weight in regards to housework etc. We are not difficult people in any way, but we want to be clear with these conditions due to previous experiences.

    We have guest accomodation in a separate house (in the stable/barn building) which provides a comfy king size bed, bathroom with a shower and toilet, tv, as well as a wardrobe and other storage. The guestroom also has its own balcony with a beautiful view over the farm and land. In the room just below (with just an outside staircase between them) is a pentry/kitchen with a small fridge and cooking facilities. We may sometimes use this room ourselves as well. Depending on our work schedule and other activities we'll be happy to share meals every now and then.

    We can welcome one person or a couple. Due to allergies in the family we are only able to welcome non-smokers (both indoors and outdoors) without pets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is easy to get to - the closest bus stop Osbyholm is 2 km away (6 min by bike) from where you can take direct buses to both Lund, Kristianstad and Malmö (which in turn is easy to reach from the airport or by train). All of these cities have excellent shopping facilities as well as restaurants, cafes and cultural life. The town of Hörby is 4 km away, and the nearest grocery stores are 3 km away. We will provide a bike so that you can get around if needed, or will drive you when possible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have an excellent fiber connection (100/100) available. There is a large table and chairs etc in the conservatory that can be used as an office when the temperature admits.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large parking area and can provide electricity and water.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 775365772593