Enjoy the pace of life in a tropical island and help us around the hostel in Koh Samui, Thailand



Favourited 272 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    we are an irish couple who enjoy the pace of life in koh samui and wanted to open a business here to learn new things in life and enjoy yoga, walks, excercise, eating good and help our customers enjoy life too. Its a new experience for us and we are learning and you can too.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we are in the process of talking to people on the island to hold yoga classes on our rooftop terrace there may be a chance to learn yoga. Our Thai cook loves to teach us all about Thai way of life and eat the thai food and teach us thai language and she can help you too. There are many free activities on the island too, like tea tastings, walking groups, and salsa classes so you can spend time here enjoying yourself for little or nothing. There is a fun dance aerobics class for only 10baht each day and night markets are held almost every night where you can eats lots of gorgeous treats for very little money. There are also two charitys that we would like to get invovled with and help both children and animals so if that is of interest to you you can come along too.
    If there is something you would like to do , maybe learn yoga, muay thai, work out or go to a language school let us know your timetable and we can work together to make this a win win for everybody.

  • Help


    Hey workaways right now we urgently need someone with a background in the tech side of digital marketing.
    Thanks a mil .
    Daragh and Laura.

    We are a new hostel on the gorgeous island of Koh Samui in Thailand. We are looking for help over the next few months to help get us up and running. The areas we would love help with are as follows:

    1) Someone who is good with updating blogs and websites, otas, facebook, instagram etc and knows the rules to follow to gain many followers and is willing to teach us there knowledge over a few hours a day for a few weeks.
    2) Someone with experience in a kitchen who can help teach our thai staff how to cook hummus, falafel, quinoa salads, pasta dishes , chickpea hotpots , make tahini sauce, great salads and sandwhiches, smoothies etc.
    3) Someone to help with cleaning as we concentrate on other aspects of the business . It is a small hostel with only 14 beds and small cafe and rooftop terrace.
    4) Artists to decorate our plain white walls.

    We are located in Chaweng noi , a beautiful area only 5 mins from the busy nightlife and 5 minutes from beautiful tranquil serenity.

    Just to confirm the volunteer would not be cooking for guests but rather showing our Thai cook some dishes and techniques that they might know to help her learn. also to teach in kitchen layout and safety of food storage.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We are a hostel and depending on the response we get on workaway along with a few bookings you will be in one of our three rooms that contain beds of 2, 4 and 8 along with shared bathrooms. But as this is a small hostel it is very much like a home away from home and we (the irish owing couple) live on site too. Our thai cook is a lady of 50 years of age and a Koh Samui local who is serious fun but also very warm and kind and has become the mammy in the house.

    As we will be teaching the cook how to make many different foods there will always be something to snack on and as we have a small cafe we will always want to use certain stock up first. But if you really dont like what we have to offer there are many great places with very cheap food if you want something in particular and at certain hours you will have use of the kitchen to make your own food too if you want to cook a dish you miss from home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many sights to visit, big Buddha, national marine park, Na Muaeng waterfall, mummified monk, night markets with street food, lamai view point, Fishermans Village, Crystal Bay, go horse riding, zip lining, snorkelling or diving and much much more..... no where is more than 45 minutes away at most and you can rent mopeds at a very special price with neighbouring businesses who offer good prices for anyone who stays with us or take a local tuk tuk. Avoid taxis as they can be quite expensive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 775364477295