updated  

Help on my small retreat space in Barbate, Spain

  • Favourited 75 times
  • Last activity: 24 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I have a boutique glamping and retreat space on the edge of a protected pine forest, and very near the beautiful beaches of Caños de Meca and Barbate. I am Jake and live on the property, and am in the beginning stages of creating what I hope will become an idyllic Andalucian oasis (it's taking shape already but still a load more to be done). I left London to explore a different way of living, and to learn about sustainable and regenerative practices, and build a space that can serve as an example of how we can live! I worked for international NGOs for ten years but decided to focus more locally and tap more into my creative side and love of nature, instead of sitting behind a screen most of the day! So far so good and I'm loving the lifestyle and the people i meet along the way, creating a loose community with all those who pass through and inspire, and are inspired by, the project!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a unique space that hopes to lead by example in the way of life that it allows and encourages, deeply connected to nature, and conscious of our human needs and condition, but still connected to society and local community. It is a work in progress and a place of constant learning (for me as much as for visitors), incorporating a lot of learning in different disciplines that i have picked up from my life and travels so far.

    The area is unique and interesting, being off the beaten track with its own Andalucian micro-culture (and accent..which can be a struggle even for me at times!). There is plenty to see, explore and learn about in the area, but just being here in San Ambrosio's small community gives a real insight into real semi-rural Spanish life, warts and all!

    I speak fluent Spanish having done my degree in it and lived in Spanish speaking countries for years, and am happy to help with language learning and conversation if required!

    I have built and installed most of the things on the land myself (with help of course) and with not much prior experience in practical/manual work! I have learned by doing and encourage workawayers to do the same. You will leave here with skills you didn't have when you arrived!

  • Help

    Help

    The help needed is wide and various. We have a vegetable garden that works well but needs more attention and input! There are construction projects (Decks, wood cabins, composting toilets, outdoor showers etc.). There is also room for creativity with decorative art projects to make the site stand out even more, and also a chance to learn about infrastructure systems like grey water filtration and recycling etc.

    As we also receive guests during the summer months, some help may be required in tending to the site during these times, for example turnover and cleaning of tents and common areas, and other activities to improve the guest experience. This work that is directly connected with the business function will be remunerated at €10 per hour for those hours worked.

    I am also looking for yoga teachers as I intend to start some classes on a newly-built yoga deck under an immense pine with a view over the forest. So a collaboration could also be formed with a those experienced in giving yoga classes.

    The list goes on, and what work needs to be done will depend on the dates of stay, as there are priority projects. But it will certainly never be boring! Workawayers should be prepared for some physical work where necessary, and some experience of working with tools/wood is a bonus.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    My native tongue is English and I am fluent in Spanish. I'm keen on practising my Italian and French, so Italian and French workawayers would be a bonus.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is a static caravan. It is well equipped with double bed, electricity, wifi and a gas heater and stove. The interior is in decent condition but can use some renovation and decoration, so ideas, creative work, and a bit of love are welcome! The bathroom is currently an outdoor shower (with hot water) and the toilet is a separate composting toilet. Another project is to make the caravan self-sufficient in this regard, either repurposing the existing bathroom, or building composting toilet and shower outside. Meals will be shared and cooking can be alternating or a collaborative activity.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As the place is located a few kilometres from the nearest town and beaches, it is ideal for workawayers to have a vehicle (car or at least a bike). Otherwise, they will be dependent on me to get down there and I don't go every day. Just something to bear in mind!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is a good, stable internet connection and enough space to give a quiet space for those who need to work remotely

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 773537995384

Feedback (2)


Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Learn about permaculture and restorative agriculture, helping at an educational farm in Coin, Malaga, Spain
Enjoy nature and surfing while helping around house and garden in Foz, Spain