Help with various eco projects and household tasks in the countryside of Canoa, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello you!
    we are a young couple leaving in the country side of Canoa, Ecuador. We bought land in 2018 and started our dream project that includes permaculture principles, eco-construction, reforestation and many other things. We come from the city Montreal (Canada) and we speak french, english, spanish and also portuguese.

    When we started to live here we didn't knew much about farm life but in a year we learned a lot. So we would like to share what we accomplished and go even further with the workaway community.

    If you are interested to stay with us as a volunteer please write something about yourself, past experiences and how you think you could help us!



    *****

    Allo!
    Nous sommes un jeune couple habitant à la campagne de Canoa en Équateur. Nous avons acheté un terrain en 2018 et avons commencé notre projet de rêve en essayant de suivre les principes de permaculture, d'éco-construction, de reforestation et bien d'autres choses. Nous venons de la ville de Montréal (Canada) et nous parlons français, anglais, espagnol et aussi portugais.

    Lorsque nous avons commencé à vivre ici, nous ne savions pas grand-chose de la vie à la ferme, mais en un an, nous avons beaucoup appris. Nous aimerions donc partager ce que nous avons accompli et aller encore plus loin avec la communauté Workaway.

    Si vous êtes intéressé à rester avec nous en tant que volontaire, veuillez nous écrire quelque chose sur vous, vos expériences passées et comment vous pensez que vous pourriez nous aider!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Escape from the city and benefit living in a natural environment surrounded by monkeys and toucans. You'll learn to cultivate and harvest delicious organic fruits and vegetables. We are not experts in permaculture but you can benefit by learning along the way with us. We did a couple of Earthship constructions and are more than happy to share our knowledge of it.


    ******


    Évadez-vous de la ville et profitez de vivre dans un environnement naturel entouré de singes et de toucans. Vous apprendrez à cultiver et à récolter de délicieux fruits et légumes biologiques. Nous ne sommes pas des experts en permaculture mais vous pouvez apprendre en cours de route avec nous. Nous avons fait quelques constructions Earthship et sommes plus qu'heureux de partager nos connaissances à ce sujet.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening
    - watering
    - start seedlings
    - transplant
    - compost making
    - terracing
    - weeds removing

    Animal care
    - feed and water the dogs, chikens, ducks and the cat
    - maintenance of the chiken coop
    - give love to them

    Building
    - retaining walls
    - tire walls
    - stairs
    - bottle walls
    - garden beds
    - bamboo work
    - cement foundations
    - furniture
    - cob oven
    - adobe walls, floors
    - earth bags

    Help with Eco project
    - R&D for permaculture projects
    - automatic watering system
    - Earthship principles : rain water collection, black and grey water treatment, recycled materials for construction

    Art project
    - mural
    - plant labeling
    - recycled art project
    - tell us about your ideas!

    General Maintenance
    - general cleaning

    Home Cooking/shopping
    - cook delicious food

    Help in the house
    - house sitting

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french, english, spanish, portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live 4km from Canoa - taxi ride is 3$.
    We have a private room with only 1 double bed, small fridge and small modest kitchen that can accommodate 1 or 2 persons maximum. There is plenty of space for people with tents.
    We have hot water shower and flush toilet.
    Internet is available only from 4:30pm to 8am only and weekends all the time.
    Food from the land is available if consumed on site.
    There is a 10 minutes walk to get to our home, no taxi goes up our slope.

    We only accommodate a group of 2


    *******

    Nous vivons à 4km de Canoa et le trajet en taxi coûte 3 $.
    Nous avons une chambre privée avec seulement 1 lit double, un petit réfrigérateur et une petite cuisine modeste pouvant accueillir 1 ou 2 personnes maximum. Il y a beaucoup d'espace pour les personnes avec des tentes.
    Nous avons une douche avec eau chaude et une toilette.
    Internet est disponible de 16h30 à 8h uniquement et les week-ends en tout temps.
    La nourriture de la ferme est disponible si elle est consommée sur place.
    Il y a une marche de 10 minutes pour arriver chez à la maison, aucun taxi ne monte notre pente.

    Nous accueillons seulement un groupe de 2

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 4km from Canoa a fisherman/surf/tourist town. During your free time you can learn how to surf, ride horses, do yoga, massages, visit other organic farms, enjoy the Manabita local food and party. For the beer lovers there is a microbrewery 4km from us ;)


    ******

    Nous vivons à 4km de Canoa un village de pêcheurs / surf. Pendant votre temps libre, vous pouvez apprendre à surfer, monter à cheval, faire du yoga, des massages, visiter d'autres fermes biologiques, profiter de la nourriture locale Manabita et faire la fête. Pour les amateurs de bière il y a une microbrasserie à 4 km de nous;)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week,

Host ref number: 773112915851