updated  

Help with gardening, our dogs and daily life in North West Tasmania, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 20 times
  • Last activity: 02/02/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi there from Emma and Robbie,

    We live on the beautiful North West coast of Tasmania with two maremma dogs (big), two curious cats and a lovely large garden. My adult son George also lives with us - he is busy working and playing volleyball :) We have a one acre block which we dream of transforming into a sanctuary of lush vegetable, herb and fruit gardens with spaces for accommodation and creative arts. So far it is a bush block and we are just beginning...

    We live in a big old house across the road from the block which is split in two - another family with young children live in the other half and it is important for us to be respectful of their space and needs. The two dwellings are separate but we share services and access.

    We use organic gardening methods and hope to be certified one day. We are also very interested in permaculture and using many of these techniques and designs - plenty to learn here also though!

    There is plenty of work to do including mowing, brush cutting, planting, weeding, building, clearing, landscaping, etc. We are experimenting with a giant hugelkulture which also needs input. I could also use some help with setting up a website and a blog! Inside there is cooking, cleaning, sewing, animal care and other work such as making products such as jam and preserves, processing seeds and other creative endeavours.
    Robbie is working full time and Emma part time and we will need to time our helpx sessions around this. It is good to have helpers with a strong amount of initiative and independence.

    We have friends with racehorses that need regular riding and if you are experienced there is a possibility to do some of this.

    Playing music and singing are something we would like to do more of - as well as taking part in the local music scene. Robbie plays guitar and Emma ukulele :) We also like playing games like board games and table tennis.

    We live in a wonderful place and love to share this with visitors - waterfalls, amazing beaches, unique land formations, beautiful towns, superb crafts and woodwork, mouth watering produce (and chocolate!), world famous hiking opportunities and so much more. When we have time it is our pleasure to show you around. At other times we can point you in the right direction and provide some resources to help.

    We are happy to pick you up and drop you off from/to the nearest bus station/airport by arrangement.

    There are two accommodation options available:
    - In the sunroom which is also a study there is a single bed (also space for a swag on the floor next to this.
    - In the shed over the road on our block is the 'Honeymoon Suite' a double bed in a shed - rustic but beautiful :) we have lived in there for a few weeks when we have had family visiting.

    Our home is safe and respectful. We care about your safety and space and expect the same in return.

    Both of us had a small amount of exposure to other languages at school and Robbie has had more recent experiences with German. We are keen to learn and happy to encourage others wanting to improve their English.

    We are looking forward to meeting you, furthering some of our projects and sharing recipes and other life experiences :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are interested in permaculture and gardening, we like to play music and share this with others. This is a lovely place to experience and explore. Meeting others and hearing about their experiences and passions is great fun. We like to socialise and have friends of varied backgrounds. People love to stay with us and leave happy :)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with gardening, mowing, housework, whipper snipper, building, cooking, walking dogs, clearing spaces.... Maybe also to develop a website and blog! Plenty of options - we can work out what will work for both of us.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are both interested in languages - we both speak English well and are happy to help others with this. We both speak a few words of German - but happy to try and learn anything...

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a single bed inside and a double bed out in the shed. It is also possible to camp or park a caravan or similar.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    North West Tasmania is a very beautiful area with many varied places to visit and experiences to have!

    Internet only through the phone

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Of course we are happy for people to work on their own projects/employment. At the moment the only internet we have is on our mobile phones so you would need to provide your own internet. There is a desk set up in the house which is available for others to use at some times depending on the needs of the household.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We are happy to have people in their own vehicles but we have limited facilities where the parking spot is - no power available. Very beautiful though :)

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We are happy to consider pets that would fit in with the animals we already have here and our household circumstances. It's worth asking :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 772596333188

Feedback

Welcoming travellers to come stay Castlemaine, Australia
Help with my dogs, DIY and daily life in Alexandria, NSW, Australia