Share some time with us at our house near San Diego, California

  • United States
  • Favourited 161 times
  • Last activity: 07/02/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a vagabond couple who decided during the pandemic to put down some roots. Before that we spent two years living in the back of a pickup truck driving the Pan American Highway – from San Diego to Alaska to Argentina.
    Before that we were long-time couchsurfers together hosting over 100 people over the years.

    We now live just outside of San Diego in a rural community called Valley Center with our dog on 2.5 acres. We miss couchsurfers but our home isn’t what most couchsurfers are looking for as it is so far from the city and tourist attractions, so we are trying Workaway to meet fellow vagabonds, travelers and free spirits.

    We are easy-going and both work from home throughout the day. Right now, much of our free time is spent fixing up our land and yard. We make our own meals and on the weekends we go on hikes with our dog, drive into San Diego for an urban walk, head to the beach or just sit on the porch and look at the mountains.

    We value meeting new people, learning new perspectives and having interesting conversations that allow us to better understand the world around us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to discuss anything and everything about our lives and what we’ve learned travelling and living on this crazy planet – and we hope you will feel free to do the same. We are excited to learn about your culture, a new food, a new way of doing things or a new perspective.

    We can teach you a bit about San Diego history, practice English, and we can learn as we work together and tackle various projects.

  • Help

    Help

    Since we come from a couchsurfing background, we are used to travelers who tend to just pitch in as needed. In that spirit, we are interested in hosting a person or two who we can work together with us on general upkeep and maintenance, housecleaning and yard work. Once a week we work together to clean the house, and we usually make lunch and dinner together every day, and of course clean up afterwards. Outside there are many projects needed all the time like general weeding/landscaping as well as bigger dream projects like starting a food garden or building a fountain and Zen garden.

    If you are a programmer, there could be opportunities to volunteer with Mark for his nonprofit.

    If you are a native or fluent Spanish speaker, you could help us practice. We are both intermediate speakers when we have the chance to get back into speaking!

    If you have another skill that fascinates us… dog training, juggling, woodworking, etc. that could be part of what you share.

    Once we know we are a good fit and where your skills and interests are, we can come up with a more formal agreement for the help and hours to make everyone comfortable.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We have both been ESL teachers in the past and are always happy to help you speak better English. We would love to practice our Spanish as well!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an extra bedroom with a view of the mountains in our three-bedroom house to share, and a private bathroom. We also have a large, covered RV carport if you are a vanlifer or overlander and prefer to stay in your own home. It has water and electricity but no waste disposal/dumping.

    With that in mind we can accept 1 person if you are alone, 2 if couple/friends and can share a bed, or more if you have your own vehicle with sleeping accommodations.

    We have an exercise room to use and we are on the edge of Daley Ranch, a 3,000 acres/1,200 hectare park with over 20 miles/32 km of hiking and biking trails.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Valley Center weather is warmer than the coast, but not quite desert. There are also small markets nearby for groceries and a handful of restaurants. We are about 15 minutes by car to the city of Escondido where there are restaurants, grocery stores and normal town stuff. The beach, mountains, desert and San Diego are all about 45 minutes away by car. Having a car would be best to explore but we can drive you to the bus stop if you don’t mind long rides. We are about 45 minutes from the San Diego airport and train station, but we are happy to arrange to pick you up if you let us know in advance.

    Not rules… but you should know…

    We are not vegetarian, vegan or gluten free. If you are, then you should probably look for a different host unless you are okay with being responsible for your own meals and shopping.

    We live in a high fire zone so smoking on the property is too dangerous. Weed is fine if you smoke inside and are very careful.

    Generally we are super chill, quiet and easy-going people so if you live a high-drama or party lifestyle we probably aren’t the best fit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have unlimited but only medium-speed internet and a quiet place you may work. We ask that you be considerate using high-data applications during the day that would interfere with the shared bandwidth.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large, covered RV carport. It has water and electricity but no waste disposal/dumping.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Friendly mellow dogs that get along with other dogs okay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 768874867599

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Learn to grow your own food on an organic minded farm in Louisa, Virginia, USA
Small, well rounded farm welcoming cultural exchange central Texas, USA