Help build our eco-farm and have a blast while doing it! USA

Country

United States

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a beautiful 30 acre farm (about 23 acres of woods with ATV paths and a creek) and 7 acres that are flat. We have 2 barns with woodworking equipment and a 80 yard soccer field with almost regulation size goals. We are wanting to move toward eco-gardening as we have an orchard and a large garden space with wood chips. The house is only about 20 years old, nicely equipped, picturesque back deck with hammock. We have dirt bikes, a dune buggy, and ATV's. We are looking for an individual or couple who can work 3 to 4 hours per day. Vehicle is onsite for use. Lots of fun to be had along with interacting our large family on occasion as we can make it out (we don't live full-time on the property). My son is a top notch woodworker and is willing to teach. Help build our eco-farm and have a blast while doing it! If during the summer, we have a pool for your use as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    ATV's, dirt bikes, dune buggies, Futbol (soccer), interacting with our large family. Pool during the summer. Great base of operations to tour Kentucky, learn about the world-famous bourbon whiskey industry, horse country is only 10 or 15 minutes away.

  • Help

    Help

    Some gardening. If capable, some light building projects.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room, bathroom with shower/bath. House has a kitchen. We may be remodeling the kitchen, but their is also a fridge, stove, and microwave in the basement. You will be responsible for cooking your own meals. We will stock the fridge for you prior to your arrival.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    City of LaGrange is only 8 minutes away by car. A very picturesque town with a running train going through it on a daily basis. Only 2 like that in the USA. A vehicle will be available for your use if you can legally drive. Bicycle can be onsite as well. Come see the beautiful state of Kentucky. Use it as your base of operations to travel the states. We are open to longer-term stays. We hope you can become like part of the family. My wife and I traveled Europe after college, and enjoyed our travels so much. We hope we can help someone experience that for themselves here in the great US of A. My wife and I own multiple successful businesses so this could be a springboard for even more opportunity. At a minimum, come help us get our eco-farm started!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Lots of space --- no formal "hookups" but if they have a generator -- it can work. We do have power and water available.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Non violent pets that could help protect farm animals and don't bark a lot

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 768798678648