updated   Last minute

Help at our beautiful off-grid finca in Arico, Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain

  • Favourited 424 times
  • Last activity: 16 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello beautiful people, we offer our beautiful yurt or cavehouse accommodation to kind, serious, working and autonomous volunteers who has construction experience/or couples (one person to do cleaning, laundry and household and one person building/renovating).


    The current projects are insulating the back of the house from humidity, building a sauna (woodwork and stone building) , landscaping in front of the second cavehouse, reinforcing the roof in the back of the house for solar panels, sandwich panel roof, reparing the road (concrete) The right candidate(s) will preferably have a car and work from 9:00 to 14.00.





    I am a yoga teacher and a nature lover. But lately with the kids,the animals, the finca to manage and renovate and the business to run I have just been a very busy person running everywhere... that is why i am very thankful to workawayers like you who are happy to help our family in exchange of a nice accommodation in the nature and vegetarian food :) I live with my husband and my three kids (8year old 5year old and 3 year old)l in a big and beautiful off the grid finca in Tenerife 15 minutes away from the ocean (caution: 15 minutes by car- public transport available though a bit chaotic) .We have installed most off-the-grid systems (solar electricity/solar hot water/biogas/drink water filter/solar cooking..)but we are still renovating the place. Also we start designing and setting our permaculture garden. The finca already has a great variety of self-caring fruit trees (lemon, orange, pear, apple, fig, plum,papaya,...) and nut trees. It has one big cavehouse we finished last year, a smaller one what we are working on now and a lot of pretty caves which can be transformed into cavehouses. It is located directly close to a national park which makes it a perfect spot to start hiking too and for climbing (three climbing canyons 20 minutes away by car). The view on the ocean and Gran Canaria island is really incredible. Nearby fishervillage is a nice spot for snorkelling, for scuba diving and for surf beginners when the swell is there. Nearby village in the moutain is well known for climbing.


    We live in the main house and there is a yurt located at the best viewpoint to accommodate two persons. There are also two bigger yurts.And two cavehouses. Be ware that Tenerife is a big mountain so as soon as you leave its shore, you are quickly on altitude...which means, when the sun is up, it is nice and very warm, and when the sun is down in the winter, it cools down rapidly.

    Cleanliness and upmost care of the environment your host provide you with are key principles for a smooth cohabitation. We also only look for serious applications (this is NO couchsurfing, it is an international platform for travellers willing to help in exchange of nice accommodation and lovely talks around a beautiful meal) ! We really need help and support)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can see how it is possible to set an house off-the-grid and learn by helping in its daily management. According to your tasks you will learn a lot about building or farming techniques. You can enjoy the amazing surroundings after work, have unique stargazing and breathtaking sunrises. You can join my yoga practice (Hatha, yin, vinyasa and fly- which might be however quite irregular with the children) and practice 5 languages (French, German, Russian, English, Spanish).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people with anyone of these skills:
    1.cleaning (family house daily cleaning and kids room tidying up, laundry,)
    2. building skills (concrete floors or concrete spraying for the cavehouses)
    4. renewable energy and car mechanics
    5.climbing ( we have an amazing spot nearby and would like to learn more)

    6. Gardening skills (weeding, tree pruning experience,permaculture knowledge and understanding, or vineyards maintenance)

    The tasks will be given according to the skills you bring with and communicated before your arrival. For example, you might help my husband in getting the caves ready to accommodate, setting the water pipes for the bathroom, extending the electricity cables to reach the cavehouses on the property, put fences around the finca, taking care of the vineyards, managing the compost, babysitting.

    You will help 5 hours a day (from 9:00 to 14:00 and you've got two days free per week
    . You are responsible for keeping the shared amenities like the hot shower clean after you used it.
    Upmost care is expected of the accommodation you will use and any damage has to be repaired or paid.

    Also we have availability for a 3hour per day helper with house cleaning and tidying (80%)/animal and plant care (20%) (no food provided)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in a new cavehouse (bathroom still in construction) or in a beautiful lotus belle yurt located at the highest point with a breathtaking coastal view. You get an outdoor gas stove to prepare your meals, your own dry toilet and solar shower (extra hot shower shared).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off, you can checkout the outstanding spots of the island (Teide national park, Masca scenic hike, Anaga antique lorbeer forest, natural swimming pools, Punta del Hidalgo nice surf,...), fish, surf, snorkel with turtles in Alcala or Puertito, sail for whales or dolfins in Los Gigantes, go for botanic hikes in the national parks, wind or kitesurf at El Medano,nearby amazing climbing spots...For all this, it is necessary to rent a car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 768377745957

Feedback (28)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)


































Permaculture project between hills and sea in the Strait of Gibraltar, Spain
Help on hiking with dogs and enjoy beautiful views in Haza del Trigo, Spain