Help us build and start a flower farm 30 min north of Asheville NC in Burnsville NC

Country

United States

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/10/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Located 30 minutes north of Asheville, NC, our start up not for profit flower farm is in the charming mountain town of Burnsville, NC. Our family land which we named Lily of the Valley Flower Farm is just beginning.
    Join us as we put the first shovels in the dirt of 14 acres of pasture, meadow ,and a forest with a beautiful view of the sister mountains to Mount Mitchell, tallest mountain peak on the US east coast. Our dream is to take care of the land, forest, creek and create a flower farm to share with the community. We would like to use this land and the flowers we grow as opportunities to give back to the community and create some basic infrastructure for others and future workaways to enjoy our land and farm. Our focus will be eco based choices including solar and compost. In addition to the flower fields we will be planting an orchard and vegetable garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Western North Carolina with the opportunties to explore Asheville and surrounding mountain communities will be rewarding and beautiful during your stay with us. Host family will share their hobbies and knowledge. The family also has tremendous musical opportunities with instruments and recording equipment. Our young adult kids like to play music or teach music with friends in many genres including jazz and acoustic. . Our family loves to cook Pescatarian and vegetarian style meals but are happy to make any diet preferences work. For meals and food, most of the time you would be responsible for your own food. The family is generous in providing the basics, abundant locally grown vegetables and meet. Gas grill with side burners is available on the land.

  • Help

    Help

    Both of our young adult kids have done workaway programs (ages 19, 23 in Burnsville NC and Hawaii) and loved the experience.

    We are looking for helpers with interest in our vision to do physical work in the following areas: Land and soil management; Stream and creek restoration: Trailblazing in the forest; Building structures (garden shed and small 700sq farm house to host future workaway volunteers on site, we are trying to build off the grid as much as possible ); Gardening; Greenhouse construction and starting seeds, digging flower fields, building fence and planting veggie garden and orchard ; Urban gardening and yard work at our house in North Asheville. There are also many volunteers at area non-profits. Examples include Southern Appalachian Highland Conservancy, Mountain Tree, Asheville Greenworls, River Link.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Mom and daughter (19) speak limited French and happy to learn language through everyday conversation.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Airbnb style upscale urban apartment in Asheville a 30 min drive from farm with your own vehicle OR tent camping on land forest or pasture OR bring your own small camper. Current on land no electricity, no bathroom (compostable toilet coming soon) , no water (water well coming soon).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    20-25 hours per week with flexility on days off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Tents and small campers are needed to stay on the land. There is also an option to stay at the owners home located in North Asheville a 30 minute drive from the farm. Ideally you would have your own transportation for this commute.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 763816153787