Come help building a combined sculpture/tiny house right by the sea

Country

Denmark

updated  

Favourited 335 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    73.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Before contacting me, I kindly ask you to please read the FULL description and reply to all 4 questions below. Thank you very much.
    ***

    I'm Maj, a 40 year old environmental artist who bought 2 acres of land right by the beach 2 years ago where I now live and work. It’s situated in the raw nature of Sjællands Odde in the heart of Denmark with it's own little pine forrest and only 1.5 hours to Copenhagen or Aarhus (ferry).

    I host people from around the world who come here to enjoy the beautiful raw nature right by the sea and engage in art, cultural exchange and themselves.

    PAYED POSITION
    I'm looking for someone(s) who would be keen on building a tiny house in my forrest. It's supposed to be a combined house and sculpture, as I'll create a big nest on top, where you can look at the stars and the sea only a few steps away.
    Do you have documented skills in construction: building, plumming, electricity etc. I offer a payed position. Apart from the tiny house, I'm also always on the look for craftsmen for other construction tasks the farmhouse where I live and always am in need of skilled craftsmen.

    SOCIAL LIFE AND CULTURAL EXCHANGE
    I've had about 25 volunteers from 13 different countries, and these exchanges have been priceless! As a worker here it's important for me that you always feel happy, inspired and highly worshipped. Work must be rewarding for everyone, every day. We sometimes eat together, sometimes not. In the winter it's fairly quiet here. Time for book reading, reflection and not least - our amazing sauna by the rushing sea!

    PLEASE NOTE
    Please make sure that you are fine with working quite independently, as I don't have many other people around here in the winter time.
    I have a cat, Mis Universe, and her half grown up kittens.

    When contacting me, please include the following. Please be aware that I don't respond to messages that don't include these questions.

    1) Why this project in interests you
    2) Certificate or pictures /references which documents your craftman skills
    3) Your interests, skills, age, preferences, values etc. - stuff that help me get an impression of who you are.
    4) Your motivation for volunteering, weather it be cultural exchange, working holiday visa or other.

    WORK
    The work is 5 hours a day 5 days a week. You can do longer days and take more days off to go to Aarhus or Copenhagen or elsewhere as you please.

    FOOD
    Vegetarian, sometimes fish

    ACCOMODATION
    You can sometimes be asked to share a room or move around depending on the amount of guests staying.

    FREE TIME
    The place is great for long walks, running, reading and writing.
    Please, be sure you bring books, own projects or other to entertain yourself after work, as there is not much to do here after dark.

    SOCIAL TIME
    The days are very varied. Many people come and go: Friends, volunteers, carpenters, and sometimes days are just quiet.

    SOCIAL MEDIA
    There is internet access free to use moderately. Telephone calls and internet surfing should happen separately from work time and social time, and kept to the private spaces.

    DRUGS & ALCOHOL
    We sometimes serve alcohol, but generally alcohol is not a part of the everyday here. Use of drugs (wheat also) is not allowed.

    BRIEF FACTS:
    Closest town: Havnebyen (5 km)
    Transport: From Cph: 1,5h by car, 2,5-3h by public transport. Ferry to central Aarhus 3 min walk from the house, hitchhiking is easy and common.
    Food: Vegetarian + fish
    Area: Holiday house area with neighbor houses close by
    Facilities: In the winter we stay in a small house next to the big house with hot water, electricity, washing machine and WiFi

    After sending your application, if there is a good match, we’ll do a WhatsApp or FaceTime conversation where we can present each other, I can show you around here and you can ask all the questions you may have.

    I'm looking forward to hearing from you!

    Best wishes,
    Maj

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A beautiful place by the beach
    Being part of a new beginning of a visionary nature site
    Pieceful times in the nature
    Watching the sunset on our own beach Meeting passionate people when more people staying here (friends, volunteers, carpenters)
    Learning new skills about carpending, construction, language (English + Danish), yoga, art and Danish culture
    Basic accomodation and vegetarian food
    Lots of space around the area to go for walks or run
    Plenty of flexibility in working tasks

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    I would love to welcome Workawayers of all ages and with all kinds of skills who would like to be pioneers in a brand new project.

    Carpenting
    Painting
    Washing/cleaning
    Building/Construction
    Gardening
    Photograply/Filming
    Etc. etc.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Dorm shared with all volunteers

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 762973737398