Come and enjoy a true Canadian lakeside experience in Quebec, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 70 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/04/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Update: February 2022. When COVID-19 struck, we let our profile go idle. It just wasn't possible to host Workawayers with all the restrictions. Now that things are getting somewhat back to normal, we'd like to look at hosting again.

    Hello Workawayers, welcome to our lakeside paradise in the beautiful Laurentians, north of Montreal.

    My name is Dan, a junior college teacher in Montreal. I co-own these lakeside houses with my good friends Alain and Richard, a couple also from Montreal. We spend summers and weekends at Lac Violon, along with many of our friends, some of whom also have places on the lake.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will enjoy the nature and wildlife that Canada is known for. There are loons and ducks on the lake and from time to time otters and mink that run along the lakeshore. We often hear owls at night and flying squirrels sometimes visit the bird feeder. The lake is surrounded by luxuriant forest, which turns brilliant red and orange in early October.

    Depending on the week and the day of the week, workawayers will be invited to share meals with us and our friends around the lake. We'll be happy to share our knowledge of Canada, Quebec, Montreal, the Laurentians. We speak English and French and a little bit of Spanish.

  • Help

    Help

    In mid to late April and throughout May, there will be some outside yard work to do. This includes raking, pruning, weeding, sweeping and other outdoor upkeep. It will also be time for a serious spring cleaning inside. You should be aware that winter has a firm grip here; sometimes the snow doesn't completely melt until late April or early May and the lake isn't ice-free until around the same time. Obviously, swimming isn't an option until later in the year. It is nonetheless a nice place to be. If you'd like some peace and quiet and some time in a natural setting, let us know.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two peaceful lakeside houses north of Montreal. This is a pretty and quiet spot in a natural setting. The lake is great for swimming, canoeing or rowing. We can provide a canoe, a rowboat and/or a paddleboat for workawayers. There are forest walking or hiking trails just meters from the house. On a sunny day, the dock is a great spot to read or enjoy the scenery.

    Workawayers will have one of the houses to themselves or to share with other workawayers. It has a lovely view of the lake, two bedrooms plus a separate sleeping cabin, a fully equipped kitchen and fireplace for cool evenings. We will provide all the food, but workawayers will have to prepare most of their own meals. The closest village is 7 km away, along a scenic road. We can lend bicycles for the ride. There is internet and good mobile phone service. The house has a small TV for DVDs only.

    Sorry, we cannot accommodate smokers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This lake is where Montrealers come for holidays and on weekends, so it's pretty appealing place to enjoy time off. For Workawayers who want to enjoy the city on days off, we may be able to accommodate them. This will be negotiated on a case-by-case basis.
    On days when we aren't present at the lake, there will be no transportation. We will however be present at least three days a week.
    To get here from Montreal, we will provide transportation by car or by bus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 761217343564