Help with language exchange and around the house in Veneto, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I am Maria Cristina Chiea, I'm Italian but I love every ethnic group in the world! I'm married and I have a 30 years old daughter, Nicole, that gave me a wonderful grandson, Emile, in January. Ours is an extended family: Nicole's father is Ivorian, and also if we get divorced 26 years ago I still have a good relation with all the family in the Ivory Coast. My husband, Mario, has a son too, Massimiliano, who is 26 years old. Actually I live with Mario and my mother, Anna, who is 87 years old and needs a full time help; I work for Mario's firm of electrical systems and my office is close to home so I can follow better my family. I like to travel and learn the customs and traditions of other people. I live in a beautiful city, Padua, full of art and culture and very close to Venice (20 minutes by car) and also near to Verona and Treviso, the Dolomites, and the Garda lake: this gives the opportunity of having great trips, looking for art or to get in touch with the italian nature and make beautiful excursions by feet.
    I wish I have the opportunity of having a cultural exchange: i would like someone who could bring the Ivorian or West African culture again in my family, especially for Emile in order to help him with learning French and his origins; I would also like someone to help me with my mother; moreover as I love my country, I would love to show to my guest all the beautiful sights of Italy we have and to get him/her part of my big happy family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Elderly Companionship
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am Italian but I speak French as a mothertongue so I can help my guest with learning and practicing italian. I offer the opportunity of getting in touch with italian culture, art, history by living with our family, and of learning new habits.
    Moreover the guest will have the opportunity of discovering Italy without spending money as I will provide to have family trips.

  • Help

    Help

    Teach French to my grandson and baby sitting when it happens he is with me.
    Help me with taking care of my mother, like cooking or bringing her to the park with the wheelchair.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a ground floor apartment with a private big garden, I can offer to my guest a room with a private bathroom; I offer a big living room, a kitchen and a dining room with common use. With a twenty minutes walk you can reach the city center but there are also many public transport who regularly run every 10 minutes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In Padua you can visit the Basilic of Saint Anthony, which counts a lot of pilgrims every day, the Prato della Valle square (the biggest square in Europe), the most ancient European University; thanks to our University the city is full of students from every country of the world and often in the evening there are rendez-vous with typical mediterranean food and drink, untill late in the night.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Volunteer 's room.
Volunteer 's room.
Volunteer's bathroom.
Kitchen.
Living room.
My mother Anna and baby Émile.
My daughter Nicole with her baby Émile, and my husband Mario in the dining room.
Dining room with view to the garden
Dining room with view to the garden
Dining room with view to the garden
Dining room with view to the garden (in Winter is nice to eat and see the snow outside).
Host ref number: 759951877477