Family-like community surrounded by nature in Fužine, Croatia

Country

Croatia

Favourited 148 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/01/2022

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to the Wild West!
    We are a seven people aged between 19 and 35 plus 5 horses, 5 dogs, chicken and a goat who live together on the site of a Western village, which was built for a movie set a few years ago. The place belongs to the government but we have an agreement with them that we are allowed to use some of the Western city houses for living and in return we maintain the place and open it for visitors. Since that takes up a lot of time we need help with everything else, which does not concern the visitors but our personal issues (cooking, gardening, making firewood, caring for our animals,...).
    In our free time we love to go to the nearby lakes, sit together in the tipi with a campfire, do a sweat-lodge in our self-built wigwam, make music together and enjoy the beautiful nature :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Work and live remotely in a family-like atmosphere surrounded by beautiful nature! We love deep conversations at night by the campfire but also fun weekends, celebrating with many visitors and friends on the weekends. Volunteers and visitors come from all kinds of different countries and your days here will always be filled with interesting conversations and inspiring people! The Western town has a very unique, magical atmosphere in which we find a lot of inspiration.

  • Help

    Help

    You could help us at home with the following things:

    -animal care
    -carpentry
    -woodwork
    -cooking
    -decorations
    -get water from the spring
    -cleaning
    -build tipis

    If you have any special skills, please let us know! Creative people are very welcome!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Yes

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment we are building a dorm in one of the wooden cabins. Until it is finished you can sleep in our tipi, right by the campfire! There is also space for your own tent or a camper van. There are solar showers, portable toilets and free wifi available. Meals (breakfast and dinner) are included, we eat together in the saloon!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Western city is best to reach with a car, there are several gravel roads leading up to it. We can also arrange to pick you up from somewhere. Please mind that you are in the middle of the nature, supermarkets and bus stops are not within walking distance! The closest towns are about 14km from us. There are beautiful lakes which are perfect for swimming in both towns! Also there are some canyons and caves on the area, which you can visit.
    You should be aware that during the week the place is mostly calm with just a few visitors during the day but on the weekends we usually have a lot of visitors and quite often we host events like Cowboy Weekends with games for children, shooting competitions and live music. You don't have to participate if you don't want of course, but be prepared that it might be quite noisy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Planty of space in front of the Western village. No water, no power for Van's and WoMo. You can use power and get water in the houses.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have plenty of Animals here! Just let us know if you bring another animal with you. If it is Friendly and don't attack cats or chickens it is alright.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Usually about 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 758434788988