Natural building, house renovation and permaculture forest garden project towards self sufficiency in Åmotfors, Sweden

Country

Sweden

updated  

Favourited 135 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I am Nathan. I am a young guy from Scotland and live in Sweden. After 2 years of volunteering around Europe I have decided to settle in the beautiful county of Värmland, Sweden, near the town Åmotfors. In October 2017 I bought a property with one hectare of land and a house. I am living alone but with many visitors The dream in the long run is to plant a forest garden of perennial food plants. My passion is for wild edible plants, natural building and self sufficiency. I also like to play music, woodwork, primitive living skills, and many other creative outlets. I like to be active by walking, running, cycling, kayaking and climbing. I live an alternative, simple and fulfilling lifestyle and consider myself a freegan, trying to source locally, reclaim and make stuff instead of buying it. I enjoy dumpsterdiving. The project is really from the roots and up. When I first moved in I had nothing and now Ive been having fun making it all. I hope to inspire and to teach and that others will join me on this satisfying journey. No previous experience required.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to experience an alternative way of live which is close to the earth, simple and satisfying. You will learn many crafts and skills about how an off-grid lifestyle works on a practical level. A lot about housebuilding and the tasty wild plants that grow around us. I hope that I can inspire you on your own journey! The beautiful Swedish nature is right on the doorstep, with an abundance of berries and mushrooms and other yummies. Endless forests to explore by foot and by bike and a lake close by with quiet beaches to relax, swim, and fish. There is a bus stop very close with access to towns.

  • Help

    Help

    For 2019 I am starting on the forest garden by laying mulching beds and beginning a tree nursery. I am also renovating the house. Which includes building a rocket mass heater, making furniture and artistic decoration.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are two guest bedrooms available. Electricity and internet are available but limited. Showers can be had at the neighbours place and in the lakes in the warmth of summer. (Please bring organic AND biodegradable hygiene products) The toilet is a compost toilet. And as mentioned above, I like to recycle food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport to and from my place goes runs regularly. But not on Sundays. The bus line is 100 and the stop is called Dalen, which doesn't feature on the timetable but its between Fiskevik and Åmotfors.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The house
Me
How the place looked in the 1970s
The varanda
Cosy living room in winter
Hobbit house I built in Scotland
Hobbit house I built in Scotland
The local lake has beautiful and quiet places to relax
Newly planted Gunnera by the pond
Rhubarb And part of the site of the future forest garden. The land is overgrown. Its half way there already!
Rocket stove coffee cooker. Very effective!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 757372817984