Your chance to get away from civilization and join us in the forest on our back to basics nature camp.

Country

Croatia

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to our profile. We hope you'll take a minute or two to read it thoroughly and we hope to hear from you soon, as we are looking for immediate volunteers before winter sets in 😊

    The Property & Us
    We are mother and adult daughter who bought 5 hectares of land in an abandoned village in the spring 2021. The property is mainly forest/overgrown for 30+ years and there are no house or buildings, yet. We envision a place where we live in harmony with God's word and the nature around us. We are a Bible believing family and our daily life and our vision for this place are based on our biblical beliefs and calling - This being said, we do not expect you to share the same viewpoint as us, but kindly ask that you respect our beliefs while staying at our place.

    We want to live sustainable, grow our own garden, raise our own meat and take care of the nature around us. Everything here is off-grid, with water from our own well/rainwater and solar powered electricity, therefore, the electricity is also limited at the moment - you can charge your phone without problem.

    Our property is located remotely - 6km down a forest road, which means we live 6km from the nearest paved road and any form of transport (or cross through the forest by foot and shorten the road with a few kilometres). From there, there’s around 5km to the nearest town, Glina. In Glina you will find a collection of local shops and a nice café street in centrum, and a good local pizzeria who make a mean kebab, but nothing big. There’s 70km to the capital city Zagreb and 50km to Sisak. There are buses in either direction.

    We are surrounded by forest and wild nature, therefore, it’s important that you feel comfortable and can live without being surrounded by people (nearest neighbour is 1.5 km away), things to see, places to go and modern day technology. There's plenty to do here in the nature, but we expect that you can "entertain" yourself in your free-time, as we won't always have time to chat or hang out, due to our own work. We will, at best, try to accommodate several workawayers at once, so there are more people to interact with during your stay, but this cannot be guaranteed.

    Animals:
    We currently have two goats, two horses (one in training for carriage driving), two dogs and three cats.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are not Croatians ourselves so, unfortunately, we can't give you an insight into the Croatian culture per se, but this is a great place to have some "you-time" in nature. You'll get the opportunity to work with different projects and try your hand at many things, depending on how long you stay 😊

  • Help

    Help

    Right now we have a couple of projects planned out and preferably to be completed before winter. We don't have a plan for what to do everyday of the week, but work according to our power and what the weather permits. The current projects are as following.

    - Compost toilet and shower house
    - Dry paddock and winter shed for our two horses
    - Natural wood fence around the camp

    Besides the above there are also everyday chores like watering and feeding the animals, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a caravan at your disposal, or a camping hammock equipped with mosquito net and rain-cover, if you feel adventurous. If there are more workawayers at once, we will provide accommodation in a shared 5m/diameter canvas tent, as it allows for more beds and space. There are heating for the cold nights.

    Workawayers get their own chemical camping toilet for shared use, until the compost toilet is ready.

    We cook meals together and we do cook with diary products and meat (not a lot of meat, maybe twice a week), and are currently not able to host vegans. We can work around a vegetarian diet, but we do use eggs and diary products.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you would like to come and join us for a minimum of 4 days, please send a personal message with a few details about you and your travel dates.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    You're welcome to bring along a dog, but it should be friendly towards other dogs and people, and not bark all day and night. If the dog has a tendency to chase cat's, we will ask you to keep it in a leash, so our cat's are not stressed at their own home (they play around a lot and will run away from dogs they don't know).

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 756875593632