Help me with organization around the home near New York City, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 150 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    551

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    NEW: We have an opening for a workawayer from 28 September through 9 October, 2019. I do not anticipate any further openings until 2020.

    We have had seven workawayers stay here so far, and the results have been very good!

    We live in a single-family house that is 100m away from the beach. Our beach offers swimming in the ocean (Long Island Sound) from July through September. We are in the city of Stamford (120,000 people) which is located 45 minutes from NYC by train.

    We need someone who is fluent in English, reliable, and willing to work consistent hours on our large organizing/simplifying/accounting project.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have been hosting visitors from other countries for 15 years, and have enjoyed many interesting conversations with our international guests. I have studied in Europe and traveled to 6 continents, and have lived here for 15 years so I know all about the Connecticut area.

    We are happy to include workawayers in our family activities and we often invite them to join us on our adventures (swimming, sailing, hiking, cycling, flying in small airplanes, etc.).

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for someone who can help with three different things.
    1. Cleaning and tidying the house and garden, including helping to prepare dinner and clean up afterwards.
    2. doing office paperwork (filing, sorting, organizing).
    3. Help with a major reducing and simplifying project: decluttering, sorting, and listing unneeded items on eBay, craigslist, and Freecycle.

    Your specific work while you are here will be
    - Helping me prepare dinner (on days you are eating dinner here)
    - Helping clean up after dinner (on days when you are eating dinner here)
    - Organizing, decluttering, and simplifying the house - every room, every shelf, and every drawer, one at a time!
    - Sorting receipts and bank statements, entering amounts into spreadsheets, and filing the receipts
    - Listing unneeded items on ebay/craigslist(taking pictures, writing ebay listings, and packaging up items for shipment)
    - Working with me to keep the kitchen and living areas clean
    - Mowing the lawn (1 hour, once a week, May-November)
    - Pulling weeds from the garden (1.5 hours, once a week, June-September)

    What type of person are we looking for? I'm glad you asked!
    We have now hosted about ten workawayers from a wide variety of backgrounds. From our experience so far, we have observed that the workawayers who have the best experience here are people who are:
    - organized
    - self-motivated
    - clear communicators
    - accustomed to getting up in time to prepare their own breakfast before showing up to work on time... and delving into the work without direct supervision
    - resourceful.

    Of course you will also have lots of time off (weekends and evenings) so you will want to plan excursions to NYC.

    Here's an example of what we mean by "resourceful":
    You are given a task to do, and halfway through it, you run into an obstacle (something we don't have or don't know, that is needed to complete the task). Do you:
    (a) shrug your shoulders, move on to something else, and later tell your host you couldn't do the task
    or
    (b) use the internet to research the problem, find out how we can overcome it, and make a brief list of possible solutions, then show your list to your host with your suggestion of the best solution.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English & German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own private bedroom in our family home. The room has a double (queen) sized bed, a desk, a TV and a stereo. It connects to a shared bathroom.

    We have one cat. He is very friendly. He does not go into your bedroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is 1.9 miles (3 km) from our house to the Stamford train station. The train ride from there to NYC is 50 minutes and costs $13.

    We have a beach 100m from our home which is good for swimming in summer (July-October). It is also good for sailing (April-October).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week (5 hours per day, 4-5 days per week)

The beach is 100m away from our house
Here we are hiking in the White Mountains of New Hampshire.



Host ref number: 756863247461