Help us create a community around an old factory building between Ecueillé and Luçay-le-Mâle, France

Country

France

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/08/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Jean-Luc Delvallée I am 71,. I am in the process of renovating a disused 2000 square meter factory, to be turned into a collective project.
    The project is situated in 15 hectares of woodland in the French countryside, midway between Ecueillé and Luçay-le-Mâle in the region Indre (Centre of France). The nearest city Chateauroux is 50km away. Tours is 80 km away.

    There are 17 houses, a 200 seats theatre, a 50 room guest house as well as the factory in need of renovation. At the moment, all of the focus is on the factory. We have a low budget so we are keen to recycle, re-use, and get the most out of our ressources.
    The collective consist of myself and 5 regular members plus occasional help. We eat a lacto-vegetarian diet.
    The vision for the project is to welcome people and offer activities and possibilities for people to develop their own artistic/creative projects.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have been practicing Bhakti yoga for the last 50 years and can share my experiences. I can help you to learn or improve your french. There is very nice idyllic countryside and small villages nearby, many historic places like the Loire castles, monasteries, churches...a few bicycles are available, the closest village is only 5 km away.
    Day trips can be arranged.
    Out in the countryside is very quiet, and with no city light pollution you can clearly see the stars at night. The surrounding oak forest is full of wild life. It is very peaceful.

  • Help

    Help

    The factory has a few holes in the roof that need to be repaired, doors and windows have to be replaced, in order to make it more comfortable for people to live in. Partition walls made out of clay and straw also need to be built. There is already a kitchen, a place to take a bath, and an outside compost toilet.
    There is running water, no main electricity but we have several generators (to be replaced later on with solar panels). There is also work to be done improving the grounds around the factory.
    We are happy to receive any help we can get, we are particularly interested in people experienced with carpentry, plumbing, electricity, general renovation.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Lacto vegetarian meals will be served: breakfast, lunch and dinner. Help in the kitchen is welcome but you will not need to cook for yourself. We can cater for some vegans but our main food include dairy.
    At the moment the factory is mostly open plan (large open spaces). Most beds will be in a dormitory, the factory is still missing a lot of windows so there is plenty of fresh air but you will be protected from the elements. You are welcome to bring your own tent or caravan. If you have specific needs please tell us so that we can arrange something. There is a shared bath and one toilet outside but there can be more. Currently there is only cold running water but it can be heated up.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest train stations are: Noyers sur Cher and Châteauroux. You can then take a bus from Châteauroux straight here. We can pick you up in Noyers sur Cher if needed but not from Châteauroux.

    This place was also previously used for Airsoft and paintball games.

    Internet access is available but limited for the time being until the electricity problem is solved.

    Part of Bhaktiyoga is following regulative principles. We ask our guests to not drink alcohol, take drugs while here. If you need to smoke, you can do so away from the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 756252366371