Help me and my father with various woodwork and garden projects in the countryside close to Rome, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 40 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of two (me and my dad) living in the area of Viterbo, not far from Vico Lake, the sea and Rome! Sometimes there are other family member passing by or spending the weekend and there is also sometimes a friend of my dad living in a caravan mostly during the summer months, he comes from Portugal.

    My father is an old fashion carpenter and lives in the countryside near Ronciglione. He needs help with several home projects starting from gardening, building, working with wood, cleaning and reorganizing the house (he is a warm hearted guy but the kind of man who's a mess in his own house! He needs help :D).

    Me, Chiara, the daughter, am restructuring an old little apartment in a very small village not too far from my father's house Carbognano (8km away) where I will move once it will be complete. I may need some help also for that but it will be occasional.

    I still live in my father's house but we manage to create a separate apartment with everything you may need upstairs, there is a free room (one person or a couple) , and when I'll be able to move to the new apartment in Carbognano we are going to host more than one helper. Volunteers will live in the house in the countryside, in a kind of separate apartment with lots of privacy but also possibility to share moments together.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My father is a very typical and nice Italian old man. He does not speak fluently any language a part from Italian but he always finds a way to communicate with all the couchsurfers I hosted so far.
    He loves to teach and share abilities, he is also a super good cook.
    I am a traveler myself and lived in several countries, I am sure there will be plenty for me to tell you and to learn from you!

  • Help

    Help

    Countryside house: gardening, wood work, reorganizing the house, cleaning and restructuring with my father, he is home most of days and he is not able to take care of all by himself, he needs help but he is willing to teach you all that is needed!
    Small apartment in Carbognano when I am free from my job: mainly rebuilding (painting, pavements, cleaning and furnishing) occasionally.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room, shared bathrooms and shared kitchen. Food will be provided in the kitchen downstairs where my dad lives, he eats moditerranean food, meat and fish, vegetables from the garden. If you need any specific kind of diet you will have ingredients and prepare your own meal in the kitchen upstairs where you'll be living/sleeping/having your privacy (I the doughter, live upstairs, we'll share the house for some time till I move to the other apartment)

    Meals will be three: breakfast normally in Italy is sweet (milk, coffee, yogurt, cereals and marmalade); lunch (around 1pm) dinner (around 8pm). Normally when we eat we also prepare food for guests, in case you need some different menu there will be ingredients available or you just add the ingredient to the shopping list!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The workers we had used bikes to move around, otherwise there are few public transportation, or we could take you to the nearest station.
    In the surroundings you can find nature and also easily arrive to Viterbo or Rome.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You'll have access to the wifi, wich is good but not super fast. When it rains doesnt work (countryside's problems). You'll have your own room, and also the kitchen upstairs if needed, as well as all the outseide space to work. I myself work at home sometimes and make skype calls and so on.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Kitchen for guests
Entrance to the upstairs apartment
The room where you'll be sleeping. It can also be a double room (the beds can be separated)
Tomatoes from the garden
Relaxing spot, where we have most of lunches and dinners
The countryhouse (that needs some resctructiring and reorganizing/cleaning)
Andrea the carpenter!

Host ref number: 755925117452