Join our family and help with gardening and more in Hooghalen, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In August we bought a very special old farmhouse where we can live with our two households together. The first household is Ronald and veerle with the two year old Kate and newborn Jane. The other household are Lotte en Dion. Lotte and veerle are sisters. We live in separate houses and have another apartment for you guys!

    We have a big garden with fruit trees and just started a vegetable garden. Because the houses are old, there is always maintenance to do. and we can use some help in the massive garden.

    The place is great to live. Its living in the outdoor with nice villages and a lot of culture nearby. Camp westerbork is close, Groningen is a great studentcity to visit, Assen is a city on biking distance and is alright for shopping, walking and cycling (you can borrow bikes) in the surrounding areas is lovely, in just 25 min drive there is a nice zoo.

    We have Some animals. A few chicken, a cat who all live outside. Two guinypigs who live at veerle and Ronald’s house. And we rent out the stables, so there will be horses as well.

    You will have your own apartment and the garden has loads of places where you can either enjoy each others company or find some privacy.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Both families are well travelled. Lotte and Dion are still exploring the world during their holidays. With the little ones, Veerle and Ronald travel a little less but it’s still in their hearts. With welcoming workaway-ers into our family we hope we can bring the world to us.
    You will get an inside in how Dutch people live staying with us.

    Besides that there are a lot of cultural sites to visit close by.

    A visit to westerbork will get you an inside in how the Netherlands experienced World War Two. Orvelte is a village which even goes further back into history. The hunnebedden (dont know the English word), big piles of stone from the middle ages are worth a visit too.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We mainly look for people who would like to help out with the garden. Experience is nice but not required. Just a set of extra hands to help with cleaning up leaves or something will be great.

    In March there will also be a big task emptying out one of the sheds because it will get a new roof in April.

    There might be tasks repairing stuff we don’t know it’s broken yet. The way it goes with old houses. This depending on the skills you have

  • Languages spoken

    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own apartment at the front of the house. It has two bedrooms, one with a double bed, one with a single bed and a extra bed if needed.
    It has its own bathroom and toilet and fully equipped kitchen. The kitchen is in one big open room with a dining table, couch and television.

    The bathroom and toilet are downstairs. The rest of the rooms are at the first floor.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are bikes to borrow. Biking is number one transport in the Netherlands.

    In beilen, about 15 min by bike, is a station where you can take a train to the rest of the country. The dutch transport system is great. Of course we will help you figure it out.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a lot of space surrounding the house. You can choose a Nice spot.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Only if your pet doesn’t break up the apartment.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 755898851794